#181  
Old 20-01-2011, 07:47 PM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,341
Sure has come a long way,thanks.

Completely changed the way I take Astro pics, for the better and much easier work flow. You have also quickly fixed bugs and issues and integration for newer cameras, I salute you for this.

Looking forward to the PHD integration.

Congratulations Ivo.
Reply With Quote
  #182  
Old 21-01-2011, 05:10 AM
Yoddha's Avatar
Yoddha
Registered User

Yoddha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 397
Thanks Wasyoungonce! The PHD integration is ready . I have to finish one more function and will release the next version...
Reply With Quote
  #183  
Old 21-01-2011, 09:41 AM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoddha View Post
Thanks Wasyoungonce! The PHD integration is ready . I have to finish one more function and will release the next version...

you Da man Ivo!
Reply With Quote
  #184  
Old 30-01-2011, 11:00 PM
danielsun's Avatar
danielsun
Canon collector

danielsun is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Taylors Lakes Melb
Posts: 1,965
Hi Ivo, Some great advances in this program. I am using Windows 7 with a 500D but I'm still having the issue of it not saving the images to my computer. I have uninstalled and reinstalled it with newer versions as they come out but when I go into the program files it doesn't make it's own folder of "Camera_1".
I am only trying the demo for now until I can get over the image save to computer problem.
I have searched everywhere and cannot find where the images are going, It only seems to save them on the camera regardless of what the destination setting is (as in "PC Camera or Camera+PC") It does the same thing on my notebook with the 350D. I have checked the camera settings but maybe I'm missing something.
Any ideas?

Cheers Daniel.
Reply With Quote
  #185  
Old 31-01-2011, 12:03 AM
mswhin63's Avatar
mswhin63 (Malcolm)
Registered User

mswhin63 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Para Hills, South Australia
Posts: 3,620
Windows 7 creates a folder in the application directory of the user directory, Had the same issue with mine. Do a search of you whole "C" Drive and should find it.
Reply With Quote
  #186  
Old 31-01-2011, 12:32 AM
Yoddha's Avatar
Yoddha
Registered User

Yoddha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 397
Hi Daniel,

Thanks for the kind words!

The demo version has a limitation - the storage folder is fixed. For Win7 the path is :

C:\Users\[YOUR USER NAME]\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files (x86)\Astro Photography Tool - APT\Camera_1

Please make sure that you have enabled viewing of hidden files from 'Organize->Folder and view options->View'

The full version allows to define your own folder for saving images.
Reply With Quote
  #187  
Old 31-01-2011, 10:36 PM
danielsun's Avatar
danielsun
Canon collector

danielsun is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Taylors Lakes Melb
Posts: 1,965
Thanks Ivo and Malcom, I'm on my iPad at the moment so I will check it out tomorrow.

Cheers Daniel.
Reply With Quote
  #188  
Old 01-02-2011, 01:56 AM
Yoddha's Avatar
Yoddha
Registered User

Yoddha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 397
The usual news from the kitchen - v1.40 is almost finished. By the end of the week there will be a beta version available for downloading with all features. In short it includes:

- PHD and MetaGuide integration. For PHD are included auto-dithering, auto-cancel (when guiding start gets too far), in program displaying of guiding star distance. For MetaGuide only auto-dithering is supported in the moment.
- One click switching to PHD or MetaGuide
- ASCOM telescopes control for easier object framing (full version only)
- Upgraded Messier objects browser with object's coordinates and integration with the telescope control (full version only)
- Improvement in FWHM focusing
- 60D support
- Other fixes and small improvements
Reply With Quote
  #189  
Old 01-02-2011, 10:09 AM
adman (Adam)
Seriously Amateur

adman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,279
Sounds great Ivo - I look forward to trying it out.

Adam
Reply With Quote
  #190  
Old 10-02-2011, 01:59 AM
Yoddha's Avatar
Yoddha
Registered User

Yoddha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 397
News!!! The site is updated and now you can download the beta version with number 1.35. It contains all functions that will be included in the official version 1.40.

To get it, please visit the Download page of the site. There you will find a link to the Beta Versions page, where you can download the Full or Demo version of the 1.35.

It will be great to hear your comments and findings!

The list of the changes are:
- PHD integration
--- Auto Dithering of the light frames
--- Auto Cancel on predefined guiding error
--- PHD monitoring of the distance to the guide star in the main window

- MetaGuide integration
--- Auto Dithering of the light frames

- One click switching to the guiding program
- Automatic Lens focusing - use the Lens Panel (in full version only)
- ASCOM telescope control (in full version only)
- Upgraded Object Browser with coordinates and integration with ASCOM control (in full version only)
- Auto population of the main prefix with the number of the selected object from the browser (in full version only)
- 60D support
- Usage of the latest Canon library 2.9.0
- SRAW1 and SRAW2 quality options support
- Showing the best FWHM value so far for the current object
- Better font for FWHM values
- Saving the used Long Exp. option between sessions (in full version only)
- Labels "iso" and "sec" are put in the file names for easier reading
- Auto selection of the highest ISO and 2.5" exposure for most sensitive LiveView
- OK button saves the last change in the Edit dialog
- Double click on the Exposures table opens the Edit dialog
- Better handling when connecting to the camera

Fixes:
- A bug with when unsupported quality is set on the camera, led to crash
- Exif option change in the Settings dialog needed APT restart to take effect
- TemperHUM calibration values need APT restart to take effect
- Preview didn't keep scroll position between images
- Other small things

If there are no major problems and the feedback is positive next week will release the official version 1.40 with updated manual and etc.
Reply With Quote
  #191  
Old 10-02-2011, 09:18 AM
pmrid's Avatar
pmrid (Peter)
Ageing badly.

pmrid is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cloudy, light-polluted Bribie Is.
Posts: 3,689
APT and Win7

Hi Ivo,
the more I use APT the more I like it. Keep it up.
But I had some unexpected issues last night - as soon as I selected my EOS (1000D), I got a "Runtime Error - improper program termination" message. Using Win 7 and the only other program running was PHD although I had switched across to Luminosity briefly at some stage but that program was not running whenever I tried to load APT. Any ideas
Peter
Reply With Quote
  #192  
Old 10-02-2011, 09:28 AM
Yoddha's Avatar
Yoddha
Registered User

Yoddha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 397
Thanks Peter!

Can you try to set the camera to RAW+L quality before making a connection in APT? If this helps then the problem is fixed in the beta version If it doesn't help we will find the solution
Reply With Quote
  #193  
Old 10-02-2011, 09:44 AM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoddha View Post
News!!! The site is updated and now you can download the beta version with number 1.35. It contains all functions that will be included in the official version 1.40.

Thanks Ivo..already downloaded!
Reply With Quote
  #194  
Old 11-02-2011, 03:35 PM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,341
Hi Ivo.

Just saw the addition of the ASCOM control panel in the beta vesrion.

This will really help with framing images...thanks!

I'm still trying to come to grips with the "dithering options". Just one question:
How and where do I set when to perform dithering, aka between frames?. It looks like it will dither with the dithering time out?

All clouded here so I cannot get out to try it.
Reply With Quote
  #195  
Old 11-02-2011, 04:44 PM
pmrid's Avatar
pmrid (Peter)
Ageing badly.

pmrid is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cloudy, light-polluted Bribie Is.
Posts: 3,689
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoddha View Post
Thanks Peter!

Can you try to set the camera to RAW+L quality before making a connection in APT? If this helps then the problem is fixed in the beta version If it doesn't help we will find the solution
Thanks Ivo. I did as suggested and the program did load OK but I experienced a full lockup after taking about 10 frames. So far I haven't been able to isolate the cause. It may not be APT-related.
Peter
Reply With Quote
  #196  
Old 11-02-2011, 05:09 PM
Yoddha's Avatar
Yoddha
Registered User

Yoddha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 397
Wasyoungonce, To tune the parameters related to guiding use "Shift+Click" on the "Guide" button

Peter, the "RAW+L" case is handled in the beta version Let me know if I can be in help!
Reply With Quote
  #197  
Old 11-02-2011, 05:45 PM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,341
Thanks Ivo I had found the settings.

But I cannot find time settings to sequence start dithering and I'm not sure of the dithering time out?

Does it dither every sub? Does it try to dither with the dithering time out and if it is taking a sub wait and retry for the dithering time out period? Sorry I'm a little confused.

Is it better to discuss this at your APT yahoo site?

Sorry to be a pain.
Reply With Quote
  #198  
Old 11-02-2011, 07:07 PM
Yoddha's Avatar
Yoddha
Registered User

Yoddha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 397
Wasyoungonce, you are not a pain at all!!! And you can contact me by the way that is comfortable to you - here, in Yahoo, in other forums or by mail

As for the dithering, here is the game When it is enabled APT makes dithering between every light exposure. It send the selected command to PHD and monitors when the distance to the guiding star will become less than the one defined in the "Dithering stability". When this happens it wait number of seconds (defined in "Settle time") and starts the next exposure. The "Timeout" is a way to define the maximum time you want to spend in dithering, after that time APT will start next exposure no matter what is the PHD state (0s means infinite timeout)

Auto canceling is feature that allows to cancel a running exposure if the distance to the guiding star becomes too big.
Reply With Quote
  #199  
Old 11-02-2011, 07:30 PM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,341
Thanks Ivo.....that is exactly the info and explanation I needed.

Your a champ a scholar and a write great software.
Reply With Quote
  #200  
Old 11-02-2011, 07:44 PM
Yoddha's Avatar
Yoddha
Registered User

Yoddha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 397
Thanks! I'm trying to give my best
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 10:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement