Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 22-11-2021, 04:53 PM
Andyhcmc
Registered User

Andyhcmc is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Vietnam
Posts: 5
canon camera - outputhdmi to tv

Hi,

I wish to output my eos 600d hdmi feed to my tv so we can live view the moon.

I have attached cam to scope and get the live view for 30sec's then it shuts off.

If i rotate my camera selector knob the options all show on the tv as if i'm looking through the viewfinder.

When I select "Video" it says attach a lens.

Is there a way to watch without having to keep hitting the live view button?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22-11-2021, 09:01 PM
raymo
Registered User

raymo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: margaret river, western australia
Posts: 5,943
I have a 600D but have never tried connecting to a TV.
Mine attached to my scope and made videos o.k.
The "Attach a lens" message does not stop you making a video, if you don't
attach a lens [or scope], it just videos a blur.
LiveView should remain on whether shooting stills or video.
Does the LV shut down after 30secs when connected to just the scope, or
only when connected to the TV as well.
If it does it when only connected to the scope, something is obviously wrong.
I assume that there is plenty of life in your battery. If only when connected to the TV, then I have no idea, maybe somebody else can help you.
raymo

Last edited by raymo; 22-11-2021 at 09:22 PM. Reason: more text
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22-11-2021, 09:36 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney and South Coast NSW
Posts: 4,705
Ive had my Canon 600D for 10 years , the last 4 years I’ve used it for Astrophotography, prime focus in Newtonian reflector telescopes
I’ve only connected mine to the TV using a HDMI cable for viewing still pictures and video playback , not live view on an object
I had a quick check on YouTube and the Canon site and the HDMI connection is generally for playback purposes

I use BYEOS software with my 600D for Astro image capture ( including live view ) with my 6” and 8” newtonian reflectors
It uses a micro HDMI to USB cable ( camera to Laptop )
Maybe you could use BYEOS on live view , and then link your laptop to your TV with a Standard HDMI cable to view the “Live View”
Could possibly work ?

Cheers
Martin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-11-2021, 01:58 AM
astronobob's Avatar
astronobob (Bob)
Casual Cosmos Capturer

astronobob is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Gold Coast SE QLD
Posts: 4,103
Another thing to consider is : does the camera do live view video to tv longer than 60 seconds with just a lens,,? if it does then I cant help, but if it only does 60 secs with lens also, then I would assume the camera card is not fast enough to except the video data at the rate the camera is producing video, if this is the case then you two options,, 1) reduce the video quality settings or purchase a faster reading card ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 02:10 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement