Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk

Old 09-03-2020, 09:42 AM
Aces High (Mark)
Aces High

And the mistake was: Human error

hello all...

After two days of cursing my brand new HEQ5 pro goto mount I finally found the problem. Human error. For the life of me I could not work out why after all the setup was perfect the telescope would point in the wrong direction when asked to find a star.. "etc"

The error was staring me in the face the whole time.

When you first turn on the controller it asks for the date, time and time zone. mm/dd/year.

I was putting the day then the month followed by the year.
So instead of having the date as the 9th of March 2020, I was really telling the hand controller it was the 3rd of September 2020.

I feel like a real fool now. LOL

And of course now that I have worked out my silly mistake the clouds have rolled in for the next four or five days.

oh the fun of being a total beginner..
Old 09-03-2020, 09:58 AM
Saturnine (Jeff)

You're not alone, a lot of us have been caught out by Skywatcher pandering to their, probably largest market, the USA, and having the date input with the month first. You do get used to it quickly and then it is mainly plain sailing and the mounts perform quite well.
From what I've seen of the weather forecasts there is a chance of some clear skies later in the week so you may get to try out the mount soon.
Old 09-03-2020, 10:13 AM
JeniSkunk (Jenifur)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aces High View Post
Human error.
When you first turn on the controller it asks for the date, time and time zone. mm/dd/year.
Not human error on your part, Mark, but rather a design fail by the programmers, of not adhering to the Real Standards:
ISO 8601 (international), ANSI INCITS 30-1997 (R2008) and NIST FIPS PUB 4-2 (USA), GB/T 7408-2005 (China)
yyyy-mm-dd

The unofficial common use USAian date format of mm/dd/yy is not an actual standard.

Quote:
oh the fun of being a total beginner..