Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk

Old 21-02-2021, 07:42 PM
SumoGeek (Gavin)

Howdy! A wanderer from Sydney west.

Finally can gather myself on this Star wandering journey. Other than the formation of life form itself, the whole formation of the universe is the other wonder that we human kind have the privilege to observe and even be able to make some sense of it.
I am very new to this journey and very glad to have found the community of IIS. Having lurking around the forum over the last few days I have discovered such a rich repository of knowledge and expertise here and can be sured that I am no longer clawing blindly.
Currently, I have a small 70mm spotting scope and also a SW desktop 130p. Recently, I got myself a ES Twilight I mount as I am looking at getting a bigger scope, targeting 8”/200mm range as the max size portable scope, for DSO observation purpose. Would happy to take your suggestion on a good choice.
Old 21-02-2021, 08:01 PM
jahnpahwa (JP)

Welcome Gavin!

8" newt is a fine choice for your next scope, I reckon. I use mine (Skywathcer 200pds) on a gso alt az mount that is something similar to the Twilight... It vibes, for sure, but for me it's manageable and it doesn't ruin my session. If allowing 3+ seconds for the set up to settle sounds like a hassle, maybe a 6" would do better?

I also enjoy sumo
Old 22-02-2021, 12:24 PM
mura_gadi (Steve)
SpeakingB4Thinking

Hello and welcome,

Some questions as normal...

(almost think about making it a proforma under the beginners section - of which I am a member)

Best scope or best scope for fit...

1 - How fit are you, still young and bench 90kilo? Your overall body strength/mobility does play apart in what to get. (Weight, size)

1a - Roll in/out setup or a setup in an area that traverses three flights of stairs, a small creek and 100m to your site? (maybe ease of access to standard viewing area?)