PDA

View Full Version here: : Running Man NGC 1977

spearo
07-12-2008, 09:51 PM
Hello everyone,

Had a brief window between the Moon and clouds this Friday past.

Here's a couple of versions of the Running Man.
Processed with DeepSkyStacker as usual with flats (and then a bit of PS)

One processed with Bilinear interpolation of the RAWs towards a standard blue outcome,

the other processed using the bayer matrix as is no interpolation and without further aligning of the channels upon completion of the stack.

The second version gave me a range of colors i didn't expect but upon checking other pics on the net found others had had similar results (albeit much nice than my poor efforts)

Anyways,

Please let me know which you prefer, standard blue or "color" version
Thanks
frank

Buddman
07-12-2008, 10:11 PM
OK, you lost me a bit - Bilinear interpolation, bayer matrix?

I this a part of DeepSkyStacker? I'm a bit of a newbie and haven't played with other options in DSS.

Definately like the colour version. Very nice imaging.

Adam

AlexN
07-12-2008, 10:31 PM
The color image shows more of the dust surrounding the running man, I think the standardish blue image is pretty, but I dare say the colored one is more "accurate"

I think the running man, along with the flame, are two of the most overlooked deep sky targets around.. Obviously due to their close proximity to 2 of the most easily recognized targets out there...

Shame, your images prove theres a wealth of beauty in the running man, and it might be worth a closer look.. Alex.

Bassnut
07-12-2008, 11:39 PM
umm, sorry, I dont understand. The Bayer matrix conversion includes interpolation, so what was the 1st image? (Bayer conversion is required on a DSLR, it makes no sense without). Why would you need "futher" aligning of the channels after that?. The 1st image looks better IMO, the 2nds colour balance looks odd.

spearo
08-12-2008, 06:44 AM
Thanks guys,
I like both so I cant decide !