PDA

View Full Version here: : First Moonage with the DMK

sheeny
15-03-2008, 11:15 PM
It's been so long since I've done any real imaging and with a new camera I feel like a newbie all over again.:P

The seeing wasn't too good tonight unfortunately, and the moon is very low in the sky. I'm sure these aren't as good as my best with the ToUcam (taken under more favourable conditions;)).

1. Aliacensis and Werner.
2. Walter.
3. Regiomontanus and Purbach.
4. Aristoteles and Eudoxus.

All captured with the DMK at 60fps, MAP processed, stacked, wavelets and histo stretch in Registax V4.

Al.

RB
15-03-2008, 11:51 PM
I think they're great Al, you've done v.well with the new DMK.
I've yet to image anything with mine so I can't talk.
I feel like a total newbie too.

Perhaps the only thing I'd suggest is to adjust the contrast a little in PS to bring out a bit more detail.

Looking forward to more.

:thumbsup:

iceman
16-03-2008, 07:24 AM
I think they're great Al, nice and sharp, but like RB said totally lacking contrast.

Give them some punch in PS!

I can't wait to see what you do with it when the moon is high and the seeing is good!

Dennis
16-03-2008, 07:33 AM
An excellent portfolio Al – some nice, fine detail in those craters. Top stuff, let alone for a first time effort.

Cheers

Dennis

sheeny
16-03-2008, 01:03 PM
OK, here they are again with a bit more processing. Mostly just level and curves, add a border and text in PS CS3. There's a few others I hadn't processed last night as well.

BTW these were all captured with the DMK, through the C8, with 2.5X powermate and UV/IR filter.

Al.

sheeny
16-03-2008, 01:24 PM
Here's a mosaic of the 3 shots in the Walter Purbach Region.

These were assembled in PS CS3 using photomerge from the unsharpened stacks. Wavelets were then applied in Registax v4 and the final image was then black masked, cropped, border and text added in PS CS3.

I think I've pushed the data as hard as I can - it's showing a few artifacts.:rolleyes::P

Al.