PDA

View Full Version here: : Any eBay seller aficionados out there?

rogerg
10-01-2008, 11:16 AM
Hey all,

The other day I thought I'd finally get around to trying to sell my old Epson 3000 printer on eBay. They go for around US$450 in the states, so figured it was worth a shot.

Problem: I'm a eBay newbie. I've sold some stuff for business a little in the past, but not much. And this printer is causing my challenges.

I have questions regarding (as a seller) charging for postage "ad-hoc" kind of thing, to try and satisfy potential buyers in the eastern states. I had listed it as pick-up only because I feared such hassles.

I'd rather not discuss it here in an open forum, but if anyone is familiar with selling perhaps you could drop me a PM? Much appreciated! This is causing some stress :(

Thanks,
Roger.

turbo_pascale
10-01-2008, 11:54 AM
I'm posting the answer on the forum, as there are lots of us selling astro-bits to each other, and it is a general issue that is worth covering.

Firstly, you can calculate postage with Australia post from their website for parcels. Link here: http://www1.auspost.com.au/pac/

They used to have a neat little PDF with postcode zones, and pricing structure so you could work out the "most expensive" zone that you could possibly send to, and use that as your baseline figure. I can't find it anymore, and the version I have is 2 years out of date.

The maximum parcel weight with Australia Post is 20kg. Note that the hardest part is that they will either weigh it, or measure it's dimensions, and charge you the higher rate.

If you send registered post, you automatically get insurance for up to $100 of value. You can also purchase extra insurance for $1.20 per $100 of value.