PDA

View Full Version here: : Another Eyepiece question?

Stevo69
07-09-2007, 08:34 PM
Apologies if I'm doubling up on topics here.... I need some ideas for two eyepieces to start off with my 18" Dobsonian project (http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/showthread.php?t=23739). I can really only afford two at this stage. I guess 1 x low power and 1 x high power? What would other forum members buy for a similar scope? My price range would be approx $100-$200 each?

hoo roo

Steve

monoxide
07-09-2007, 09:31 PM
at f4.5 id be putting a paracorr at the top of the list, probably cant go wrong with most ep's in the premium range after that.
i'd go for a low/medium power combo before low/high but thats my personal preference as i find myself rarely using high power in comparison.

but im no expert to give you numbers and tell you whats best since i think its more a preference thing

casstony
07-09-2007, 09:43 PM
Some time ago http://www.astro-optical.com.au/ had a special on Vixen LVW eyepieces where they cost $260 each if you bought two. These are very nice eyepieces at that price but the longest focal length is 22mm. You could call them to see if they're still selling at that price.

Stevo69
07-09-2007, 10:06 PM
I should have mentioned I don't have a preference to what type of observing I plan to do; anything from planetary to DSO's. I don't know if that means much when it comes to EP's.

thanks monoxide, I don't want to go to "high power" straight away. BTW, what do you have for your GSO 12" Dob?

Cool, thanks for this, casstony. I've just checked their site. Have they come a long way since the quaint little shop in the Mid-City Arcade, Melbourne, in the 1980's? I'll ring them next week.

I've been advised that Nagler's are suited for Dobsonians. Is there any truth in this or just a sales pitch?

hoo roo

Steve

monoxide
07-09-2007, 11:20 PM