PDA

View Full Version here: : Mini PC for imaging

Todo43
18-02-2022, 08:59 PM
Hi everyone

I am looking to make a semi-permanent pier in the backyard because I truly hate the hassle of polar aligning every time I image with no view of the pole.

I have got a plan for what I use to make the pier (Bessa blocks stacked on top of each other with a solid base), but I'm trying to work out how I should control all my gear. I normally use my laptop to control it all and then I use the chrome remote desktop software to connect to the computer from inside. The issue I have with that is that I use the laptop for school and often homework so will often need it for that each night. So I've decided that I am going to need a Mini PC to keep outside on all my gear. My question is which one? There are so many to choose from and I have no experience in this sort of thing.

I know that as it is just used to image, I don't need a high spec'd PC and that I don't need heaps of space (another question on that later). I would prefer to connect to it via wifi rather than ethernet cable. Also, I don't know any brands that I should look at.

Lastly, I assume that a Mini PC behaves the same as a normal PC or laptop so I would just download the software and drivers and then set everything up, and off it goes? Do I then need to go and plug in a USB to get all the images off and onto my laptop?

Thanks for all the help everyone :). I'm just very confused at this point :question:

Saturn488
18-02-2022, 09:04 PM
I use an Intel NUC that is mounted on my tripod. I then connect that to my wireless network and RDP to it from my main PC. Works a treat, never had a problem.

Todo43
18-02-2022, 09:57 PM
Which one is that? I just looked it up and there are so many of them

Saturn488
18-02-2022, 11:01 PM
I’m running a 6th gen i3. They are up to 11th gen but even a used old one on eBay will do the job.

Just make sure you get 256GB SSD, 8GB and an i3 minimum.

Todo43
19-02-2022, 10:01 AM