PDA

View Full Version here: : Wireless Scope

nightsky
10-11-2006, 08:36 PM
G'Day
I'm not very savvy on this so please excuse my ignorance, I received a email from Starry Night regarding there software upgrade package,and I noticed while on there web site this wireless thingie
http://store.starrynightstore.com/sn-bwtc-1.html
apart from taking long exposure pic's of a object,while sitting in the comfort of a warm room, what else can it do? As it seems to me if you wanted to look at a object close up, you would still have to walk over to the Telescope and look through eyepiece, or can you zoom in on a object using the software, do I have a got it all wrong. any information would be appreciated.
Thanks
Arthur

monoxide
11-11-2006, 01:17 PM
im no expert but id say thats just a wireless adapter for a goto scope, meaning that you could control it from a distance, i cant see a mention of ccd control on that page though. handy accessory for those that dont have a laptop, use software on your pc to tell it where to go then go have a look.

the other way to have a wireless setup is to have your scope/camera plugged into a laptop then use windows 'remote desktop' to remotely control the laptop and camera.

nightsky
11-11-2006, 02:12 PM
G'Day Monoxide,
Thanks for your reply m8, I thought that would be the case,I forgot to mention the ccd,there program like many others control the scope so I guess it's more for the taking long exposure shots in comfort, but for people like me it would just be another toy to play with ;)

DaveO
11-11-2006, 04:02 PM
Nightsky, I have one of the BlueStar adapters you saw.

I haven't used it a lot yet, but it works like this. You plug it into the AUX port of your scope's hand controller (I have a SkyWatcher Goto EQ6, which uses the Skyscan HC). You put the HC into RS232 mode, and then can control the scope from your PC running various software packages.