PDA

View Full Version here: : Macquarie University Astronomy Night

Irish stargazer
19-05-2013, 03:30 PM
Attended the astronomy night last night at Macquarie Uni and brought my 12" Lightbridge along. I never attended this event before so I was not sure what to expect. Oh boy was it busy!
From 5.30pm to 9pm there was a constant queue of people lining up to see glimpses of the moon and Saturn, mainly families with young children. What a great event-the car park was packed with people and scopes. Lots of WOW moments-kids and adults.
Will definitely do this again. The photo was taken just before the flood gates opened.

mithrandir
19-05-2013, 04:13 PM
John, how did you get on with the light pollution from the MGSM and the hospital? Is there any western horizon left or have the trees finished taking over?
I'd've been there but I'm in Geneva being clouded out and rained on.

Octane
19-05-2013, 04:47 PM
Wow, nice one.

I only attended once, back when I was an undergraduate there. I think it was ten years ago when Mars was at opposition? The views through the 16" Meade were excellent. There was massive queues, back then, too. :)

H

Irish stargazer
19-05-2013, 04:56 PM
Most of the lights had been turned down. No glaring light at all. It was pretty dark overall. The western horizon is covered by trees so no glimpses of Orion or Jupiter at sunset but they did set up a scope on the otherside of the tree line for those interested in seeing Jupiter. Over 1000 people registered and there were big queues lining up to buy tickets on the night.
Glad I didn't bring my Televue eyepieces. The one I used has more baby kisses on it than a politicians face.:lol: Time to clean it.

Larryp
19-05-2013, 05:12 PM
I don't know what it is with public star nights, but so many members of the public feel the need to rub their finger on an eye lens. I used to have some cheap Plossls just for such occasions.

GraemeT
19-05-2013, 05:18 PM