ICEINSPACE
Member Login
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waning Gibbous
74.8%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
5:51 pm
Perth
2:51 pm
Auckland*
7:51 pm
New York
1:51 am
Paris
7:51 am
GMT
6:51 am




Image of the Week
IOTW for 8 September 2015
Image Of The Week
The Gorgeous Couple NGC2451 and NGC2477

This gorgeous couple of clusters, NGC2451 and NGC2477 in Puppis is not often imaged by amateur astronomers. NGC 2477 (left) is a glorious open cluster grouping over 300 members in an area almost as extensive as the full Moon. NGC 2451 (right) has around 40 stars well dispersed with its brightest star being c puppis, a yellowish giant of magnitude 3.6. The sky background is filled with faint Hydrogen emission of the GUM Nebula. This is a mosaic of 2 panels in HaLRGB, 25 hours total exposure.

Previous Images of the Week


 
Date Author Title
25 Nov Dennis ISS Transit of the Moon
24 Sep JohnW International Observe the Moon Night
17 Sep CapturingTheNight Aurora Australis from Goats Bluff
08 Sep marco The Gorgeous Couple NGC2451 and NGC2477
20 Aug Maurice NGC7009 - Saturn Nebula
02 Jul dylan_odonnell ISS Transit over the Moon
25 Jun Stefan Buda Saturn captured from Melbourne
02 Mar colinmlegg Alpha Centaurids at 40,000 ft
09 Feb ourkind The Pilgrimage - Lord of the Ring
05 Jan philiphart Comet Lovejoy C/2014 Q2
Filter by author:
 
* All IMAGE OF THE WEEK images are subject to the copyright of their respective owners and may not be distributed, modified or reproduced in whole or in part without the prior permission of the respective owners.
Advertisement
Tasco Eyepiece Competition
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Atik One
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Astronomy Alive
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
Sirius Optics
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement
ICEINSPACE
AUSTRALIAN AMATEUR ASTRONOMY
Copyright © 2004-2017 ICEINSPACE.
All rights reserved.