ICEINSPACE
Member Login
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waning Gibbous
74.7%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
5:53 pm
Perth
2:53 pm
Auckland*
7:53 pm
New York
1:53 am
Paris
7:53 am
GMT
6:53 am




Image of the Week
IOTW for 2 March 2015
Image Of The Week
Alpha Centaurids at 40,000 ft

This beautiful composite of four Alpha Centaurid meteors was captured on Valentines Day (night), by Colin Legg on a red eye flight back to Perth. He had his camera on repeat, shooting 1 second exposures for 20 minutes and managed to capture 4 meteors during the 20 minute period. Colin used a black hood to shield the camera from the cabin lights. Captured over Western Australia at ~40,000 ft, 4x1 sec composite at ISO25600, f/1.4, 35mm. The Alpha Centaurid meteor shower occurs early Feb each year.

Previous Images of the Week


 
Date Author Title
25 Nov Dennis ISS Transit of the Moon
24 Sep JohnW International Observe the Moon Night
17 Sep CapturingTheNight Aurora Australis from Goats Bluff
08 Sep marco The Gorgeous Couple NGC2451 and NGC2477
20 Aug Maurice NGC7009 - Saturn Nebula
02 Jul dylan_odonnell ISS Transit over the Moon
25 Jun Stefan Buda Saturn captured from Melbourne
02 Mar colinmlegg Alpha Centaurids at 40,000 ft
09 Feb ourkind The Pilgrimage - Lord of the Ring
05 Jan philiphart Comet Lovejoy C/2014 Q2
Filter by author:
 
* All IMAGE OF THE WEEK images are subject to the copyright of their respective owners and may not be distributed, modified or reproduced in whole or in part without the prior permission of the respective owners.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
Atik One
Advertisement
Astronomy Alive
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
Sirius Optics
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Tasco Eyepiece Competition
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement
ICEINSPACE
AUSTRALIAN AMATEUR ASTRONOMY
Copyright © 2004-2017 ICEINSPACE.
All rights reserved.