ICEINSPACE
Member Login
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waning Crescent
4.1%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
2:25 pm
Perth
11:25 am
Auckland*
4:25 pm
New York
10:25 pm
Paris
4:25 am
GMT
3:25 am




Image of the Week
IOTW for 7 April 2014
Image Of The Week
The Lagoon and Trifid Nebulas

This beautiful widefield mosaic shows two of the most observed and photographed objects near the core of our Milky Way - the Lagoon and the Trifid nebula, located approx 5,000 light-years away in the constellation of Sagittarius. The Lagoon Nebula (M8), is the large pink nebula and contains an active stellar nursery where stars are forming. The Trifid Nebula (M20), is the blue and pink nebula on the left. The red-glowing gas results from high-energy starlight striking interstellar hydrogen gas.

Previous Images of the Week


 
Date Author Title
09 Dec bobbyf 99% Full Moon
17 Nov John Hothersall M42 Orion Nebula in Narrowband
15 Oct Adelastro1 It's a six! Total Lunar Eclipse over Adelaide
25 Sep pluto Milky Way from the ISS
24 Jul Paul Haese M42 and Running Man
07 Jul Star Catcher Widefield Rho Complex
13 May SkyViking Magnificent Neptune Re-Imagined
07 Apr avandonk The Lagoon and Trifid Nebulas
28 Mar cazza132 Our Galactic Core
17 Mar prokyon Aristarchus and Schroter's Valley
03 Mar Bassnut IC2944 - Running Chicken Nebula
24 Feb colinmlegg Saturn Occulted by the Moon
10 Feb Peter Ward Fox Fur and Cone Nebula
28 Jan Stefan Buda Australia Day Mars
22 Jan SkyViking In the Shadow of the Horsehead
15 Jan marco M78 and Reflecting Dust Clouds in Orion
06 Jan colinmlegg Albany Aurora and Airglow
Filter by author:
 
* All IMAGE OF THE WEEK images are subject to the copyright of their respective owners and may not be distributed, modified or reproduced in whole or in part without the prior permission of the respective owners.
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement
ICEINSPACE
AUSTRALIAN AMATEUR ASTRONOMY
Copyright © 2004-2017 ICEINSPACE.
All rights reserved.