ICEINSPACE
Member Login
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON New Moon
0.2%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
2:07 pm
Perth
12:07 pm
Auckland
4:07 pm
New York*
12:07 am
Paris*
6:07 am
GMT
4:07 am




Image of the Week
IOTW for 28 January 2014
Image Of The Week
Australia Day Mars

Captured from Melbourne with a 16" Dall-Kirkham telescope and DMK21AU04 webcam, the planet Mars shows some amazing detail including the north polar cap. Mars is rising before midnight now and is best observed in the few hours before dawn when it's at its highest. Look to the north in the constellation Virgo, and Mars can be seen as the red 'star' that doesn't twinkle. Mars reaches opposition on the 8th April, when the Sun, Earth and Mars form a straight line as viewed from above.

Previous Images of the Week


 
Date Author Title
09 Dec bobbyf 99% Full Moon
17 Nov John Hothersall M42 Orion Nebula in Narrowband
15 Oct Adelastro1 It's a six! Total Lunar Eclipse over Adelaide
25 Sep pluto Milky Way from the ISS
24 Jul Paul Haese M42 and Running Man
07 Jul Star Catcher Widefield Rho Complex
13 May SkyViking Magnificent Neptune Re-Imagined
07 Apr avandonk The Lagoon and Trifid Nebulas
28 Mar cazza132 Our Galactic Core
17 Mar prokyon Aristarchus and Schroter's Valley
03 Mar Bassnut IC2944 - Running Chicken Nebula
24 Feb colinmlegg Saturn Occulted by the Moon
10 Feb Peter Ward Fox Fur and Cone Nebula
28 Jan Stefan Buda Australia Day Mars
22 Jan SkyViking In the Shadow of the Horsehead
15 Jan marco M78 and Reflecting Dust Clouds in Orion
06 Jan colinmlegg Albany Aurora and Airglow
Filter by author:
 
* All IMAGE OF THE WEEK images are subject to the copyright of their respective owners and may not be distributed, modified or reproduced in whole or in part without the prior permission of the respective owners.
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Atik One
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement
ICEINSPACE
AUSTRALIAN AMATEUR ASTRONOMY
Copyright © 2004-2017 ICEINSPACE.
All rights reserved.