ICEINSPACE
Member Login
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waning Crescent
1.3%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
5:13 am
Perth
3:13 am
Auckland
7:13 am
New York*
3:13 pm
Paris*
9:13 pm
GMT
7:13 pm




Image of the Week
IOTW for 23 October 2012
Image Of The Week
Pleiades (M45) from Coonabarabran

Perhaps the most famous star cluster on the sky, the Pleiades can be seen without binoculars from even the depths of a light-polluted city. Also known as the Seven Sisters and M45, the Pleiades is one of the brightest and closest open clusters. The Pleiades contains over 3000 stars, is about 400 light years away, and only 13 light years across. Blue reflection nebulae surrounds the brighter cluster stars. 120 mins exposure using a WO110 refractor on an EQ6 with a QHY8L CCD camera.

Previous Images of the Week


 
Date Author Title
24 Dec Star Catcher Huge Arching Solar Prominence
17 Dec colinmlegg Tassie Geminid
10 Dec sjastro NGC253 - The Silver Coin Galaxy
03 Dec Martin Pugh The Flaming Star - IC405
21 Nov MarkJ Sunflower Eclipse
05 Nov philiphart Valentine's Aurora
29 Oct RickS IC2118 - Witch Head Nebula for Halloween
23 Oct Ross G Pleiades (M45) from Coonabarabran
15 Oct bird Jupiter from Karratha
08 Oct David Fitz-Henry The Dusty R Corona Australis
02 Oct alexch ASKAP Timelapse
24 Sep obsidianphotos Beam Me Up
17 Sep multiweb Lagoon to Eagle in Hydrogen Alpha
10 Sep DavidTrap Rho Ophiuchi near Antares
03 Sep StephenM Blue Moon Rising over Brisbane
27 Aug Grahame Nullarbor Startrails
20 Aug nandopg The Triangulum Galaxy - M33
13 Aug Martin Pugh The Centre of the Milky Way Galaxy
06 Aug cventer M20 - The Trifid Nebula
31 Jul John Hothersall Core of Eta Carinae
23 Jul colinmlegg Lake Ballard Reflections
16 Jul SkyViking Into the Depths of the Trifid Nebula
09 Jul stardust steve Plane Crossing the Sun
18 Jun Enrique IC2944 - Running Chicken Nebula
11 Jun Paul Haese Venus Transit Across the Sun in H-alpha
29 May Ken Crawford Eye of the Needle - NGC4565
21 May Martin Pugh The Whirlpool Galaxy - M51
11 May jjjnettie Supermoon over Lake Somerset
04 May Stevec35 NGC6231 - Open Cluster in Scorpius
26 Apr Rigel003 M83 - The Southern Pinwheel Galaxy
17 Apr rogerg Silhouettes and Southern Cross
10 Apr naskies Star Trails over Lake Moogerah
03 Apr marc4darkskies Showpiece Eta Carinae Nebula
26 Mar TheDecepticon King of the Globulars - NGC5139
19 Mar Leonardo70 NGC3628 - Hamburger Galaxy
05 Mar obsidianphotos Southern Skies
14 Feb marco The Sculptor Galaxy - NGC253
06 Feb Tandum Eta Carinae in Narrowband Colour
30 Jan alexch Bright red and purple Aurora Australis video
23 Jan bird Early Season Saturn
16 Jan strongmanmike Narrowband Rosette in Hubble Palette
10 Jan RB Comet Lovejoy, the Christmas Comet!
Filter by author:
 
* All IMAGE OF THE WEEK images are subject to the copyright of their respective owners and may not be distributed, modified or reproduced in whole or in part without the prior permission of the respective owners.
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement
ICEINSPACE
AUSTRALIAN AMATEUR ASTRONOMY
Copyright © 2004-2017 ICEINSPACE.
All rights reserved.