ICEINSPACE
Member Login
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Gibbous
72.6%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
12:51 pm
Perth
10:51 am
Auckland
2:51 pm
New York*
10:51 pm
Paris*
4:51 am
GMT
2:51 am




Image of the Week
IOTW for 23 May 2011
Image Of The Week
The Fighting Dragons of ARA - NGC6188

This whopping 2.6deg diagonal field of view narrowband image was captured with an Orion Optics AG12 12" F3.8 Astrograph and an FLI ProLine 16803 CCD. 6 hours of exposure with SII, Ha, OIII filters. NGC 6188 is an interstellar carnival of young blue stars, hot red gas, and cool dark dust. Located 4000 light years away in the disk of our Galaxy, NGC 6188 is home to the Ara OB1 association, a group of bright young stars whose nucleus forms the open cluster NGC 6193.

Previous Images of the Week


 
Date Author Title
19 Dec prokyon The Pleiades Star Cluster (M45)
05 Dec Martin Pugh Melotte 15 (IC1805) in Cassiopeia
28 Nov Troy Jupiter with the GRS, Io and its shadow
21 Nov richardo NGC2014 and others near the LMC
14 Nov Ken Crawford NGC1491 Cathedral of Light
07 Nov nandopg The 2nd Best Globular Cluster, 47 Tuc
24 Oct gregbradley Supernova 2011gv in Galaxy IC4901
17 Oct SkyViking The Distant Worlds of Uranus and Neptune
10 Oct marco Deep Centaurus A
03 Oct jase The Pipe Nebula (LDN 1773)
26 Sep Dietmar Starburst Galaxy, M82
19 Sep Dennis Active Sunspot Region 1289
12 Sep John Hothersall NGC6164 - Hot Star Bubble
05 Sep Martin Pugh M27 - The Dumbbell Planetary Nebula
29 Aug gregbradley Comet Garradd C/2009 P1
22 Aug Ross G The Andromeda Galaxy (M31)
15 Aug atalas The Jewel Box Cluster in Crux
08 Aug Leonardo70 IC5146 - The Cocoon Nebula
01 Aug frewi8 Beautiful Early Season Jupiter
25 Jul Paul Haese Dusty Nebula in Sagittarius
18 Jul lebowski The Veil Nebula in Narrowband
11 Jul von Tom 58% Waxing Gibbous Moon
04 Jul Tom Davis Dust and Stars in Serpens
27 Jun floastro M101 - The Pinwheel Galaxy
20 Jun Grahame Total Lunar Eclipse
06 Jun jjjnettie The Galactic Center
30 May iceman Saturated Colour Full Moon
23 May strongmanmike The Fighting Dragons of ARA - NGC6188
16 May Grahame NGC5128 - Centaurus A Galaxy
06 May StephenM May 1 Conjunction over Brisbane City
29 Apr telemarker M16 in Narrowband
18 Apr mental4astro Astro Sketch of Eta Carinae Nebula
11 Apr Leonardo70 A Whirlpool in the Sky (M51)
04 Apr marco Deep Large Magellanic Cloud Mosaic
28 Mar avandonk Eta Carinae and Centaurus Mosaic
21 Mar Astroman Perigee Full Moon
14 Mar marco Barnards Loop around Orion
07 Mar Lester The Horsehead and Flame Nebula
28 Feb Peter Ward Massive Looping Solar Prominence
21 Feb alexch Omega Centauri, Globular Cluster
14 Feb Octane NGC3372, the Eta Carina Nebula
07 Feb marc4darkskies The Spider's Web - Tarantula Nebula
31 Jan John Hothersall Saturn, storm and spokes!
24 Jan gregbradley M78 to LDN1622 and Barnards Loop
17 Jan richardo The Gem Cluster and NGC3324
10 Jan Stevec35 Tarantula Nebula in Hubble Palette
Filter by author:
 
* All IMAGE OF THE WEEK images are subject to the copyright of their respective owners and may not be distributed, modified or reproduced in whole or in part without the prior permission of the respective owners.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
Atik Horizon
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement
ICEINSPACE
AUSTRALIAN AMATEUR ASTRONOMY
Copyright © 2004-2018 ICEINSPACE.
All rights reserved.