ICEINSPACE
Member Login
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
6.1%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
5:58 pm
Perth
2:58 pm
Auckland*
7:58 pm
New York*
2:58 am
Paris
7:58 am
GMT
6:58 am




Breaking News: Possible Impact on Jupiter, Captured by Anthony Wesley

In breaking news, Anthony Wesley from Canberra, Australia looks to have captured a new impact spot on Jupiter.

[UPDATE 9pm AEST: It's been confirmed by Glenn Orton from JPL, that the new spot is indeed an impact site. Glenn is imaging the site right now with the NASA Infrared Telescope].

Anthony's image below shows the new dark spot in the South Polar Region (SPR) of Jupiter, at approximately 216° longitude in System 2. It looks very similar to the impact marks made on Jupiter when comet Shoemaker-Levy 9 crashed into the gas giant in 1994.

You can read Anthony’s commentary about the image and see other images from the session at Anthony’s temporary website, and you can join in the discussions with Anthony on this forum thread on IceInSpace.

The list below shows the times (in UT) when the impact mark will be visible again (generated in WinJupos by Hans-Joerg Mettig.

----------------------------------------------------------
2009 Jul 19 06:09 ( 216°) 16:05 ( 216°) 2009 Jul 20 02:00 ( 216°) 11:56 ( 216°) 21:52 ( 216°) 2009 Jul 21 07:47 ( 216°) 17:43 ( 216°) 2009 Jul 22 03:38 ( 216°) 13:34 ( 216°) 23:30 ( 216°) 2009 Jul 23 09:25 ( 216°) 19:21 ( 216°) 2009 Jul 24 05:16 ( 216°) 15:12 ( 216°) 2009 Jul 25 01:08 ( 216°) 11:03 ( 216°) 20:59 ( 216°) 2009 Jul 26 06:54 ( 216°) 16:50 ( 216°) 2009 Jul 27 02:45 ( 216°) 12:41 ( 216°) 22:37 ( 216°) 2009 Jul 28 08:32 ( 216°) 18:28 ( 216°) 2009 Jul 29 04:23 ( 216°) 14:19 ( 216°) 2009 Jul 30 00:15 ( 216°) 10:10 ( 216°) 20:06 ( 216°) 2009 Jul 31 06:01 ( 216°) 15:57 ( 216°) ----------------------------------------------------------

If you get the opportunity to observe or image this potential new discovery, please do so! This will be amazing for Anthony and wish him luck!

Our heart-felt congratulations go out to Anthony for his amazing discovery image. The recognition he's likely to get is so well deserved, after all his hard work in the last few years.

All of the IceInSpace community is riding with you on this fantastic journey!

Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
ZWO Cameras at Optics Central
Advertisement
AS&T November/December 2014
Advertisement
Astronomy Alive
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Night Sky Secrets
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement
Advertisement
10x IceInSpace Stickers
ICEINSPACE
AUSTRALIAN AMATEUR ASTRONOMY
Copyright © 2004-2014 ICEINSPACE.
All rights reserved.