ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON First Quarter
53.6%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
4:50 am
Perth
2:50 am
Auckland
6:50 am
New York*
2:50 pm
Paris*
8:50 pm
GMT
6:50 pm




Go Back   IceInSpace > Images > Deep Space

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 03-03-2012, 08:08 AM
Garyh's Avatar
Garyh
Amongst the stars

Garyh is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Glen Innes, N.S.W.
Posts: 2,839
Eta with newish setup -been a while!

Hi Everyone,
It`s been a while between posts but after testing out my new wide setup, I thought I share this one. Hasn`t been a good season for getting long exposures but the other night managed to get 31 x 3 min of Good old Eta-Carina at a nice wide 400mm with a Equinox 80 and flattener. Actually quiet happy with how the flattener worked! not perfect but pretty close!
Combining done in Imagesplus then the usual photoshop tweaks.
The only thing I would like on the Equinox is a heavier duty focuser, really strains with the cooled 40D which comes in at around 1.2 kgs.
Sorry about the jpg compression had to go real low with all those stars!
cheers and thanks for looking..
Gary
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (eta-wide.jpg)
164.8 KB71 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-03-2012, 08:20 AM
Ross G
Registered User

Ross G is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cherrybrook, NSW
Posts: 4,019
Hi Gary,

Sharp and detailed from corner to corner.

Very nice colours and composition.

A great photo.

Ross.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-2012, 08:28 AM
gregbradley's Avatar
gregbradley
Registered User

gregbradley is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 10,090
Very nice Gary. Its good to see some new images from you.

Greg.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-03-2012, 11:35 AM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 12,589
Colours look terrific. That'd be great to post a link to a high res version.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-03-2012, 07:27 PM
Ken
Registered User

Ken is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mount Olive via Singleton
Posts: 286
Looks great very sharp, Gary are you using the Orion reducer flattener?
Clear skies Ken.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-03-2012, 09:36 PM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
Photon hunting

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 26,130
its nice to see a good shot of eta again.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-03-2012, 11:43 AM
Garyh's Avatar
Garyh
Amongst the stars

Garyh is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Glen Innes, N.S.W.
Posts: 2,839
Thanks Ross, Greg, Marc, Ken and Houghy! It came out rather nicely for shortish subs, and the full res version looks very nice, didn`t even do any star reduction like I usually do..

Ken, Did a lot of research on the Equinox and the Orions plus other incarnations and the Televue 0.8x (trf-2008) seemed to give the nicest results, like all televue stuff it`s worth every cent!
Thanks guys
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-03-2012, 11:58 AM
mill's Avatar
mill (Martin)
sword collector

mill is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mount Evelyn
Posts: 2,900
Very nice and i would recommend turning the camera a tiny bit so the whole of Carina will fit in
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-03-2012, 08:48 PM
allan gould's Avatar
allan gould
Registered User

allan gould is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 4,369
Nice one Gary, I havnt imaged eta for quite a while but it's always a great image to test equipment on. Looks very good to me.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-03-2012, 10:35 PM
Stevec35 (Steve)
Registered User

Stevec35 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,813
Nice one Gary. I hope the one I posted yesterday turns out as well when I do the colour.

Cheers

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-03-2012, 05:51 PM
Garyh's Avatar
Garyh
Amongst the stars

Garyh is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Glen Innes, N.S.W.
Posts: 2,839
Thanks Martin, Allan and Steve! Was too lazy to compose the pic just plonked on the camera!
Your pic looks sweet as Steve, shall be a corker when complete!
thanks Guys!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 04:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
iOptron SkyTracker
Advertisement
AS&T Aug Sep 2014
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
ZWO Cameras at Optics Central
Advertisement
iOptron SkyTracker
Advertisement
Astronomy Alive
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement
Advertisement
10x IceInSpace Stickers