ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waning Crescent
12.1%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
7:57 am
Perth
4:57 am
Auckland*
9:57 am
New York
3:57 pm
Paris
9:57 pm
GMT
8:57 pm




  #1  
Old 01-03-2012, 05:29 AM
glenc's Avatar
glenc (Glen)
star-hopper

glenc is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Casino
Posts: 3,942
Challenge

The NGC catalogue contains 7840 objects.
94 Planetary nebulae
116 Globular clusters.
150 nebulae
Has anyone seen all of the 94 PN?
Has anyone seen all of the 116 GC?
Has anyone seen all of the 150 nebulae?

Reference
http://www.klima-luft.de/steinicke/n...000/Explan.htm
see table 2.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-03-2012, 05:42 AM
glenc's Avatar
glenc (Glen)
star-hopper

glenc is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Casino
Posts: 3,942
Maybe we could start with 50 PN or 50 GC or 50 neb.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2012, 05:55 AM
bartman's Avatar
bartman (Bart)
1 of 7 of 9

bartman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,968
Thats 360 objects!(PN, GC and Neb)
So no to the questions for me.... hehehehe
Over five years....
that would be 72 a year....
6 a month ....
1.5 a week....
There's a challenge if ever I've seen one!
Bartman
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-03-2012, 06:27 AM
glenc's Avatar
glenc (Glen)
star-hopper

glenc is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Casino
Posts: 3,942
Bart, I didn't mention the 6026 NGC galaxies and the 675 NGC open clusters.
Maybe we could add 50 NGC OC or 50 NGC galaxies.

This is an amazing effort
http://astronomy-mall.com/Adventures.../steve.ngc.htm
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-2012, 06:55 AM
bartman's Avatar
bartman (Bart)
1 of 7 of 9

bartman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,968
Ah sorry I see what you are saying....
My stupid.....
I thought ( for some stupid stupid reason ) 50PN and 50GC were objects to see ...... so in fact I googled them and found nutink....heheheh stupid me..
I'll get back in my box now......
Bartman
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-03-2012, 06:59 AM
bartman's Avatar
bartman (Bart)
1 of 7 of 9

bartman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,968
Quote:
Originally Posted by glenc View Post
Bart, I didn't mention the 6026 NGC galaxies and the 675 NGC open clusters.
Maybe we could add 50 NGC OC or 50 NGC galaxies.

This is an amazing effort
http://astronomy-mall.com/Adventures.../steve.ngc.htm
That is an amazing feat... however...how does one corroborate such a session?
Just thinking?????
Bartman
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 06:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Astronomy Alive
Advertisement
AS&T November/December 2014
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Night Sky Secrets
Advertisement
ZWO Cameras at Optics Central
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement
Advertisement
10x IceInSpace Stickers