ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON New Moon
0.1%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
6:00 pm
Perth
3:00 pm
Auckland*
8:00 pm
New York
2:00 am
Paris
8:00 am
GMT
7:00 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > Images > Solar System

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 13-01-2012, 11:54 AM
tornado33
Registered User

tornado33 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newcastle, NSW, Australia
Posts: 3,816
Comet Lovejoy very faint Jan 12.

Was cool and very clear last night. Comet Lovejoy is now very faint, Id say well below the surface brightness of the surrounds of the Horsehead Nebula.

Image is 10x5 mins ISO200. 300mm f2.8 lens from Bert @f3.5. UV/IR filter. Modded 350D. A coolish 18 degrees for midsummer early evening.

Larger version here

I think the Comet Lovejoy show is just about over as it heads off for the cold of deep space.
Scott
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (lovejoy10x5minsiso200uvirmod350d300f3.5x12jan12x18deg.jpg)
185.7 KB52 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13-01-2012, 12:03 PM
Lester's Avatar
Lester
Registered User

Lester is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: E.P. S.A.
Posts: 4,954
Good capture Scott as this comet fades into the distance. Interesting what you say about the brightness, as two have reported to have seen it still with averted vision.

All the best.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13-01-2012, 12:08 PM
tornado33
Registered User

tornado33 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newcastle, NSW, Australia
Posts: 3,816
Thanks Lester
I guess with it far from any bright stars it may be easier to see visually, where the Horsehead has those bright stars nearby. I know that with 50 mins of time I could certainly get brighter nebulosity around the Horsehead then this comet now.
Scott
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13-01-2012, 12:20 PM
Rob_K
Registered User

Rob_K is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bright, Vic, Australia
Posts: 1,883
Yes it's interesting (nice shot by the way Scott!). Hard to imagine how something so photographically faint could be seen naked-eye, but I'm one of the observers that saw it (averted vision) and I was very, very surprised. So far I've seen reports of five people who tried to observe it. From Victoria, myself, Adam Marsh and a chap from Cheltenham were able to make it out in averted vision as far as the outskirts of the LMC. Jim Gifford in WA was unable to see it. Ian Cooper from NZ saw it in averted vision and was just able to hold the brighter part in direct vision. Four out of five so far, go figure!

Last night the sky was briefly quite dark but still not completely free from the twilight/moonlight combination. Will be interesting to see what happens tonight onwards in dark skies.

Cheers -
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-01-2012, 08:47 PM
zardos123's Avatar
zardos123 (Brad)
new telescope....old eyes

zardos123 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ellalong N.S.W
Posts: 284
nicely done scott


brad
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14-01-2012, 08:49 PM
gregbradley's Avatar
gregbradley
Registered User

gregbradley is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 10,309
It looks like its evaporated and thats the remaining dissipating gas/dust/water vapour that was left over from the original comet.

Greg.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 05:00 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
ZWO Cameras at Optics Central
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
AS&T November/December 2014
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Night Sky Secrets
Advertisement
Astronomy Alive
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement
Advertisement
10x IceInSpace Stickers