ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
2.4%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
9:03 am
Perth
6:03 am
Auckland*
11:03 am
New York
5:03 pm
Paris
11:03 pm
GMT
10:03 pm




  #61  
Old 20-09-2011, 06:23 AM
Liz's Avatar
Liz
Happy New Year

Liz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Muggy townsville
Posts: 4,727
Thanks for that Rob - good to hear that SWAN is tricky anyway, and that I wasnt just going over it, around it, under it.

Yes, Comet Garradd looked the best I have seen it.

Didnt have high hopes with the filter but thought it was worth a try.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 24-09-2011, 05:32 AM
glenc's Avatar
glenc (Glen)
star-hopper

glenc is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Casino
Posts: 3,935
A couple of nights back I looked at Comet Garradd with a 12" and swept back and forth across its tail. I think it is about 30' long.
S&T has an upsidedown map of its path. http://media.skyandtelescope.com/doc...radd_Findr.pdf
http://www.skyandtelescope.com/obser...128836743.html
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 17-02-2012, 01:22 PM
Liz's Avatar
Liz
Happy New Year

Liz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Muggy townsville
Posts: 4,727
This little fellow is in our northern skies at the moment, with some amazing images being taken with its 2 tails spurting from opposite directions.

I had clear skies this am so headed down to the beach for a few pics .... just a camera on a tripod. Moon was about so a bit light, and when Comet had risen higher, dawn was approaching.

Still, I got him.

It is presently in the northern constellation of Draco, at about mag 7, and still heading north. At my latitiude it is near Vega, so who can see Vega in the mornings??

PS ... I am a terrible processer.

I couldnt see it in binoc but probably left it too late, as getting light.

I really must try and attach my camera to the scope to try for some better images.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Capture.JPG)
113.8 KB12 views
Click for full-size image (Garradd3.jpg)
119.2 KB10 views
Click for full-size image (IMG_0132.2.jpg)
166.1 KB12 views
Click for full-size image (crop.jpg)
62.4 KB13 views
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 17-02-2012, 02:17 PM
mithrandir's Avatar
mithrandir (Andrew)
Registered User

mithrandir is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Glenhaven
Posts: 4,104
Liz from this far south, on Feb 18 C/2009 P1 rises at 06:42 and sets at 08:44. Given that sunrise is at 06:33 I think I'll give it a miss.

Feb 19 rise is at 07:25 and set at 07:43.

Feb 20 through Apr 01 it never rises. It will be mid April before it clears my trees.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 18-02-2012, 01:39 AM
Liz's Avatar
Liz
Happy New Year

Liz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Muggy townsville
Posts: 4,727
No Andrew, this is a more northerly one for sure, but still, there are a few who could give it a go. Mackay up maybe.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 08:03 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
ZWO Cameras at Optics Central
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
AS&T November/December 2014
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Night Sky Secrets
Advertisement
Astronomy Alive
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement
Advertisement
10x IceInSpace Stickers