ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Gibbous
60.8%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
12:48 pm
Perth
9:48 am
Auckland*
2:48 pm
New York*
9:48 pm
Paris
2:48 am
GMT
1:48 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Equipment Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 09-02-2012, 12:26 AM
skysurfer's Avatar
skysurfer
Dark sky rules !

skysurfer is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 52N 6E (NL)
Posts: 361
Vixen SP / travel mount question

Since many years I use my 1991 Vixen Super Polaris mount as travel mount to mount my Televue Genesis on it. So I do now during my Bali trip. The legs are replaced by lightweight 25x25mm hollow square aluminum profiles which saves 1 kg and as a counterweight I use a plastic bag with stones found locally so I do not need to take 3kg extra for the original counterweight. On the end of the counterweight bar and camera piggyback mount I can hang the stones bag on. I don't want to pay $40+ / kg for overluggage.

The question is now that on tropical latitudes such as Bali the axis lies virtually horizontal which results the barycenter of the mount shifts towards the counterweight (right on the photo) which results that the other two legs move easily.

Is there a way to work around this ? I already considered the iOptron Cube mount but that one has plastic gears / cogwheels and does not work without power supply.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (spmount.jpg)
129.6 KB25 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-02-2012, 07:14 AM
casstony
Registered User

casstony is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Warragul, Vic
Posts: 2,592
You could rotate the mount 90 degrees such that the polar scope is vertical (instead of horizontal as shown in your photo), using the mount in an alt/az configuration.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-02-2012, 11:31 AM
skysurfer's Avatar
skysurfer
Dark sky rules !

skysurfer is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 52N 6E (NL)
Posts: 361
That is OK vor visual observing but I also will take photos which require an EQ mount.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-02-2012, 11:54 AM
casstony
Registered User

casstony is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Warragul, Vic
Posts: 2,592
You could build another balance arm, perhaps a metal plate which clamps between the mount and tripod base.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-02-2012, 08:15 PM
dannat's Avatar
dannat (Daniel)
daniel

dannat is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Macedon shire, Australia
Posts: 2,761
Get a tripod with centre column hook & hang a bag of stones in the middle of the tripod under the column, does your tripe have central column to leg supports?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18-02-2012, 07:02 PM
skysurfer's Avatar
skysurfer
Dark sky rules !

skysurfer is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 52N 6E (NL)
Posts: 361
Finally I found it: I now use my SP mount both as altzaimuth and equatorial, dependant on what kind of use. For photos I use eq and for visual I use az and then I can control my scope like a Dobson. Only with high power I have to adjust two axes.

http://misc.nicejewel.com/sky/SP-az-eq.jpg
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:48 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Night Sky Secrets
Advertisement
AS&T November/December 2014
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
ZWO Cameras at Optics Central
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy Alive
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement
Advertisement
10x IceInSpace Stickers