ANZAC Day
Go Back   IceInSpace > General Astronomy > Astronomy and Amateur Science
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-11-2010, 07:12 AM
CraigS
Unpredictable

ITN: Status on Plasma Physics

Ok … so I know Alex will go for broke on this one but I do not feel that this should prevent us from raising a thread on the real status of Plasma Physics.

I am not attempting to provoke arguments … I hope others follow this lead.

As a matter of fact, it would be nice to discuss the topic rationally, for once.

I will state, yet again, that I am not a proponent of Electric Universe or PC. This is a mainstream science thread.

I raise this thread because I do find the topic of interest, and plasma physics clearly impacts the evolution of certain structures in the Universe. The contents capture what may be a reasonably unbiased 'snapshot' of the mainstream status in the area of study.

So, here goes, firstly the journo's article:
Solving the mysteries of the plasma universe

and then, more interestingly, the papers from:
The Workshop on Opportunities in Plasma Astrophysics

The conference papers were presented recently, by real Physicists from around the world. The attendees list is here. The topics discussed were:

Magnetic Reconnection
Collisionless Shock and Particle Acceleration
Waves and Turbulence
Magnetic Dynamo
Interfacial and Shear Instabilities
Momentum Transport
Dusty Plasmas
Radiative Hydrodynamics
Relativistic, Ultra-strongly Magentized, and Pair Plasmas
Jets and Outflow Including Structure Formation.

Ten major questions were raised on Plasma Physicists.

1. How do magnetic explosions work?
2. How are cosmic rays accelerated to ultrahigh energies?
3. What is the origin of coronae and winds in virtually all stars, including Sun?
4. How are magnetic fields generated in stars, galaxies, and clusters?
5. What powers the most luminous sources in the universe?
6. How is star and planet formation impacted by plasma dynamics?