ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waning Gibbous
98.1%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
5:10 pm
Perth
3:10 pm
Auckland
7:10 pm
New York*
3:10 am
Paris*
9:10 am
GMT
7:10 am




  #1  
Old 09-07-2010, 02:45 AM
Tandum's Avatar
Tandum (Robin)
Registered User

Tandum is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Carindale, Brisbane.
Posts: 3,612
New Computer Scam.

I've had a couple of calls from clients recently asking about calls they have received from Microsoft wanting to correct errors on their computers.

These Indian acsented scammers try to get you to connect urgently to logmein123.com so they can access your PC to correct errors in the system.

I'm unsure what the real motive is but there's some info here.

One things for sure, microsoft will not ring you and offer free support
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2010, 08:26 AM
jjjnettie's Avatar
jjjnettie
jjjpeg

jjjnettie is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kilcoy
Posts: 15,735
Cheers Robin.
If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2010, 10:04 AM
Omaroo's Avatar
Omaroo (Chris Malikoff)
Let there be night...

Omaroo is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney/Cooma
Posts: 7,608
This is where the spare old computer that's knocking around in the back of the garage needs to be pulled out and loaded with every virus you can get hold of. Give them access to that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2010, 10:33 AM
renormalised's Avatar
renormalised (Carl)
No More Infinities

renormalised is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Townsville
Posts: 9,546
Better yet, have HDK (Hard Drive Killer) loaded on that computer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-07-2010, 11:23 AM
Ric's Avatar
Ric
Support your local RFS

Ric is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wamboin NSW
Posts: 11,333
Top idea Chris

Give the beggars a taste of their own medicine.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-07-2010, 11:34 AM
erick's Avatar
erick (Eric)
Starcatcher

erick is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ingleside, New South Wales
Posts: 8,260
That URL is much too short to be a legitimate URL for any big company site!!!!! Most I deal with seem to run over several lines of strange parameters! Telstra is a shocker!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-07-2010, 01:34 PM
mithrandir's Avatar
mithrandir (Andrew)
Registered User

mithrandir is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Castle Hill
Posts: 3,210
logmein.com is real

logmein123.com is what the scammers are using. Google is your friend.

Quote:
This is where the spare old computer that's knocking around in the back of the garage needs to be pulled out and loaded with every virus you can get hold of. Give them access to that.
The Sparc one loaded with Solaris? Let them try and figure that one out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 05:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Astronomy Alive
Advertisement
OzScopes Free Shipping
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
AS&T May-June 2013
Advertisement
Telescopes Direct
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement
Advertisement
10x IceInSpace Stickers