ANZAC Day
ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waning Crescent
24.4%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
2:07 am
Perth
12:07 am
Auckland
4:07 am
New York*
12:07 pm
Paris*
6:07 pm
GMT
4:07 pm




Go Back   IceInSpace > General Astronomy > General Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 02-02-2008, 08:55 PM
OneOfOne's Avatar
OneOfOne (Trevor)
Meteor & fossil collector

OneOfOne is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bentleigh
Posts: 1,385
Missing Messier object found....M111

After many years of searching, I believe I have found the "ultimate" Messier object, making it 111 on the list. I have seen pictures of all of them so far and I would have to say that this one is the "messiest" by far! The object itself has been in existence for a bit over 18 years, making it the youngest Messier object. I appears to increase in size over a period of several weeks and then for some unexplained reason suddenly disappears. Within days it reappears in a very similar form to its last appearance and gradually accretes matter.

I would be interested to see if anyone else has discovered a messier one!
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (M111.jpg)
87.4 KB79 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-02-2008, 04:18 AM
AJames
Southern Amateur

AJames is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 283
Reminds me of the old joke objects, under "Lost Deep-Sky Objects"..

Messier 666 - A devil of an object to find in any aperture

Maybe it is in this room!!

The same source also had the old southern astronomer's joke...

"Did you hear about the northern hemisphere amateur astronomer who said he didn't mind doing all the observations during a Messier Marathon, in fact he thought it was a good challenge. However, the only thing he particularly objected too was having to carry his telescope and gear the 42 kilometres to the observing site to do it!"

Last edited by AJames; 03-02-2008 at 05:07 AM. Reason: Missing text
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-02-2008, 06:59 PM
Kokatha man
Registered User

Kokatha man is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 486
Yep, "oneofone": it's "oneofmany" I'm afraid!!! (pardon the pun) Astro-physicists surmise them to be a particular type of black hole that accumulates (mainly younger) human apparel and associated paraphenalia: it's cyclical, as critical mass approaches various internal and external forces purge the accretions to allow the process to re-invent itself. I've had several at the one time in galaxies near me. This phenomena is normal throughout the known universe!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-02-2008, 08:46 PM
GrahamL's Avatar
GrahamL
pro lumen

GrahamL is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Wollongbar
Posts: 2,651
Beware this object dosn't go supernova when it learns of its intimate existance on the web ..more so if its companion also explodes at the same time ..tread carefuly around this one ..IMHO theres more trouble than you ever could dream .so .so close
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-02-2008, 07:42 PM
OneOfOne's Avatar
OneOfOne (Trevor)
Meteor & fossil collector

OneOfOne is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bentleigh
Posts: 1,385
Actually at the weekend, the acreted matter disappeared and the object returned to its dormant, transient state. I noticed that this morning (Monday) it has begun to accumulate matter around the event horizon again. I expect it will only be a few more days before it returns to it normal state of chaos!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-02-2008, 10:08 PM
alan meehan's Avatar
alan meehan
Registered User

alan meehan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: maryland newcastle AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,146
so thats where those missing socks go.......
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-02-2008, 10:31 PM
madtuna's Avatar
madtuna (Steve)
an overactive imagination

madtuna is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: just south of wollongong
Posts: 576
I used to spot the same messier object quite often... then one day I went super nova and it dissapeared into the black hole in the wheeliebin galaxy. never saw it again
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 02:07 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
iOptron SkyTracker
Advertisement
AS&T May/June 2014
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Astronomy Alive
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Nexstar SE at Optics Central
Advertisement
iOptron SkyTracker
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement
Advertisement
10x IceInSpace Stickers