ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON First Quarter
50.2%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
8:16 am
Perth
6:16 am
Auckland
10:16 am
New York*
6:16 pm
Paris*
12:16 am
GMT
10:16 pm




  #1  
Old 13-11-2017, 08:31 AM
Christopher-26
Registered User

Christopher-26 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 9
New friend from Italy

Hello everyone,
I'm Christopher and I'm from Italy. I have subscribed to this forum because early I'm going to move in Australia, and try to find a permanent work and life there.
Astronomy is one of my favourite hobbies (such as running and trekking) since three years. I have a newton 130/650 that has very amused me in all my observations (under suburban skies and sometimes dark skies).
I have some doubts about observations in Australia, maybe I'll explain them to you in another thread.

I'm very happy to join to you.
Regards from the northern emisphere, have a g'd day!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13-11-2017, 08:50 AM
Allan_L's Avatar
Allan_L (Allan)
Member > 10year club

Allan_L is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Central Coast NSW
Posts: 2,857
G'day Christopher !
Welcome to IceInSpace

Great idea to move to Australia,
We have some great dark skies outside of the major cities.
Ask your questions and we will do our best to answer them for you.

Where do you think you will go? Its a pretty big place here.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13-11-2017, 12:44 PM
xelasnave's Avatar
xelasnave
Gravity does not Suck

xelasnave is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tabulam
Posts: 9,423
Hi Christopher

Welcome from me.

What is your concern???

I hope you are not worrying about all the things that can get you in Australia...maybe at a dark sight? I have found some folk from other parts of the world may hold that impression... if so I say there is nothing you we will run into...its a really safe place .. well in most places its safe.

alex
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13-11-2017, 01:47 PM
bigjoe (Joe)
Registered User

bigjoe is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: sydney
Posts: 1,143
Benvenuti Christopher ..Were here to help you on your journey.

Cheers bigjoe.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-11-2017, 02:44 AM
Christopher-26
Registered User

Christopher-26 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 9
Thanks for the welcome! I think i will go to Adelaide, at least during my first year in Australia.
Yes Alex, that is exactly my concern. Surfing the net i found that going outside cities or towns the risk to meet or to be bitten by dangerous animals is very high. In Italy there aren't all this animals, but if you say the places are safe, i trust you!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14-11-2017, 08:17 AM
Imme (Jon)
Registered User

Imme is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Kyneton
Posts: 170
......all that hype on the internet about dangerous things roaming every square inch of the country is just a story we use to keep people away.

.....if we didnít the place would be full!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14-11-2017, 07:39 PM
that_guy (Tony)
Local Korean Millennial

that_guy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 1,715
The only dangerous thing you need to worry about is the dang mozzies!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14-11-2017, 10:54 PM
gaseous (Patrick)
Registered User

gaseous is offline
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 277
And drop bears. Obviously. Welcome aboard!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17-11-2017, 08:36 AM
Christopher-26
Registered User

Christopher-26 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 9
Fantastic! Thanks for the answers and for the welcome
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17-11-2017, 04:11 PM
Premordial (Max)
Pale green dot

Premordial is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NSW
Posts: 26
Welcome Christopher. You will have a whole new and better sky to explore in the southern hemisphere.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 08:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
Atik Horizon
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement