ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waning Crescent
3%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
10:07 pm
Perth
7:07 pm
Auckland*
12:07 am
New York
6:07 am
Paris
12:07 pm
GMT
11:07 am




  #1  
Old 14-10-2017, 10:06 AM
glenc's Avatar
glenc (Glen)
star-hopper

glenc is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Terranora
Posts: 4,059
South Celestial Pole

Most people know that you can find the South Celestial Pole (SCP) with the naked eye using the Southern Cross.
Another way is to go half way from Achernar to beta Centauri.
If you want to be more accurate take the midpoint between alpha Hydri and beta Centauri.
The star map below is from SkyMapPro.
Alpha Hydri is to the lower right of Achernar.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (SCP.jpg)
134.6 KB148 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-10-2017, 11:37 AM
Rigel003's Avatar
Rigel003 (Graeme)
Registered User

Rigel003 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 994
That's useful for a good eyeball approximation. It's actually very close. Thanks Glen.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16-10-2017, 07:24 PM
Nikolas's Avatar
Nikolas (Nik)
Dazed and confused

Nikolas is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 765
Polar Align
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17-10-2017, 11:51 AM
glenc's Avatar
glenc (Glen)
star-hopper

glenc is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Terranora
Posts: 4,059
Scp

I sometimes use a finderscope or binoculars to go from 47 Tuc (NGC 104) to beta Hyi then to gamma 1,2,3 Oct then to sigma Oct and finally to BQ Oct.
The maps below are from SkyMapPro.
BQ Oct is the orange star on the right of Oct
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (SCP 104.jpg)
91.8 KB40 views
Click for full-size image (SCP BQ.jpg)
61.3 KB36 views
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17-10-2017, 09:41 PM
Rigel003's Avatar
Rigel003 (Graeme)
Registered User

Rigel003 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 994
I made up a visual guide for myself of the same pathway from beta Hydri. It's easy in binoculars, and I can trace the pathway with certainty in the polar scope of my Ioptron SkyTracker, even under suburban skies. Attached is a PDF copy in case it's useful to anyone.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Detailed SCP instructions revised.pdf (352.6 KB, 53 views)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18-10-2017, 05:44 AM
glenc's Avatar
glenc (Glen)
star-hopper

glenc is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Terranora
Posts: 4,059
I like that Graeme
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23-10-2017, 03:53 PM
Wavytone
Fringe Lunatic

Wavytone is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Killara, Sydney
Posts: 2,560
Quote:
Originally Posted by glenc View Post
I sometimes use a finderscope or binoculars to go from 47 Tuc (NGC 104) to beta Hyi then to gamma 1,2,3 Oct then to sigma Oct and finally to BQ Oct.
The maps below are from SkyMapPro.
BQ Oct is the orange star on the right of Oct
Reminds me of Duck Dodgers astro navigation skills, eager young space cadet !
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24-10-2017, 04:27 PM
glenc's Avatar
glenc (Glen)
star-hopper

glenc is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Terranora
Posts: 4,059
Thanks Nick Loveday
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 09:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement