ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON New Moon
0.1%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
3:25 am
Perth
12:25 am
Auckland*
5:25 am
New York
11:25 am
Paris
5:25 pm
GMT
4:25 pm




  #1  
Old 22-10-2017, 08:42 AM
Marke's Avatar
Marke (Mark)
Registered User

Marke is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney, Castle Hill
Posts: 790
Orion meteor

This was the best I got over a couple hrs early Sun morning , Siome other short faint ones showed up but this was the best of it.
Nikon D800 iso1600 25s 24mm cropped from larger frame.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (meteor-2.jpg)
164.3 KB76 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22-10-2017, 09:36 AM
Kunama's Avatar
Kunama (Matt)
TakAttacksRule

Kunama is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Canberra
Posts: 3,121
Nice capture of a piece of Comet 1P/Halley colliding with out atmosphere
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22-10-2017, 09:41 AM
Marke's Avatar
Marke (Mark)
Registered User

Marke is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney, Castle Hill
Posts: 790
Yep quite amazing to think of its origin . I remember looking thru my little 60mm scope at Halley when it came by last.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22-10-2017, 10:02 AM
RB's Avatar
RB (Andrew)
Moderator

RB is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 20,508
Looks more like an Iridium Flare to me.
Could be wrong.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22-10-2017, 10:06 AM
Marke's Avatar
Marke (Mark)
Registered User

Marke is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney, Castle Hill
Posts: 790
Be a strong coincidence if it was and only a single frame
So I'll just call it a meteor 😁
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22-10-2017, 10:12 AM
RB's Avatar
RB (Andrew)
Moderator

RB is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 20,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marke View Post
Be a strong coincidence if it was and only a single frame
So I'll just call it a meteor ��
I don't understand what you mean by 'a single frame'?
It would only show up on a single frame.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22-10-2017, 10:36 AM
Kunama's Avatar
Kunama (Matt)
TakAttacksRule

Kunama is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Canberra
Posts: 3,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by RB View Post
Looks more like an Iridium Flare to me.
Could be wrong.

No visible Iridium Flares recorded anywhere near Orion for Castle Hill area Sunday 22nd morning......
On Sunday 15th Iridium34 passed through the area at 5am but did not flare until it was passing through Crux.

Last edited by Kunama; 22-10-2017 at 10:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22-10-2017, 10:45 AM
Marke's Avatar
Marke (Mark)
Registered User

Marke is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney, Castle Hill
Posts: 790
Thanks for that
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 02:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement