Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk

Old 24-07-2018, 01:12 PM
Elecmuso

Hi everyone - where to start?

G'day all

I am completely new to Astronomy and not sure where to start, though I did do enough research to find myself a nice dobsonian. Here's what I managed to pick up after quite some time eyeing off gumtree:

Meade 10” LightBridge Truss Tube Dobsonian
QX 26mm wide angle eyepiece
Meade Series 5000 HD-60 6.5mm WP
Orion LaserMate Deluxe Collimator

So hopefully that is a decent setup. It is a little daunting since I aven't played with a smaller reflector telescope previously (except for some 35 years ago in my teens).

I'm in Mitcham Adelaide and hoping I will be able to get aquiainted with the gear without having to venture into the countryside.

I'll have lot's of dumb questions - be pre-warned!

Where should I start?

Greg
Old 24-07-2018, 01:21 PM
Stonius (Markus)

Hello and Welcome!

I'd say it's best to start with bright, easy to find things. The Moon is an obvious one. The planets also - though they can be tricky to keep in the field of view at high power - and any of the Messier objects are good places to start. I take it you know about the messier catalogue? Take your time getting to know the night sky and the constellations. Avoid galaxies to start with. They're pretty underwhelming for the beginner in light pollution, IMO.

Cheers and have fun!

Markus
Old 24-07-2018, 01:36 PM
Elecmuso

Nope, Messier catalog unkown to me - that is one of the dumb quesitons I need to ask. Though I will google it now.
Old 24-07-2018, 01:38 PM
Startrek (Martin)

Hi Greg and welcome

I’m a late starter at nearly 60yo but I’m glad I did , what an incredible hobby

I researched for 6 months before I purchased my first telescope ( 10” dob )

Don’t be afraid to ask questions , Ive asked my share