Go Back   IceInSpace > General Astronomy > General Chat
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 27-10-2014, 11:44 AM
xelasnave
Gravity does not Suck

The Big Bang Theory

I refer to the TV show not to mainstream cosmology.
I found this show entertaining but thinking more
I find the show trivialises the professions of..theoretical physists, particle physicists, astronomers and engineers.
I feel the show could cause the stereotyping of scientists as clever but unable to manage their lives like normal folk.
I am not a scientists but I think if I were I would not be happy of the images this show presents.
Does this show go too far with it's subtle message that intelligent folk are somehow incompetent.
Alex
Old 27-10-2014, 12:03 PM
Kunama

I think you may be reading too much into it Alex

I very much doubt there is any intent other than to entertain.....
Old 27-10-2014, 12:15 PM
Shiraz (Ray)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xelasnave View Post
I find the show trivialises the professions of..theoretical physists, particle physicists, astronomers and engineers.
I feel the show could cause the stereotyping of scientists as clever but unable to manage their lives like normal folk.
I am not a scientists but I think if I were I would not be happy of the images this show presents.
Does this show go too far with it's subtle message that intelligent folk are somehow incompetent.
Alex
Seems pretty realistic in an over-the-top way. I have only watched it a couple of times, but my adult children are convinced that the stereotype fits their father. I think that people who have an easy ability to interact with others are likely to migrate to occupations where that is needed (eg law, nursing, politics etc). Those of us who are more introverted and less socially at ease, tend to seek satisfaction in the worlds of science and engineering etc, where everything behaves in a predictable way and the rules are fixed.