Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Astrophotography and Imaging Equipment and Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 01-08-2011, 09:27 AM
WingnutR32 (Sam)
Registered User

WingnutR32 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 283
Show me the light, mono CCD light...

Hi all,

Thinking about heading down the mono ccd camera route after using my unmodded Canon 60D.

There are SOOOO many options as most would be well aware of. I am after the best bang for buck solution.

The QHY9 is looking quite appealing from these guys:
http://www.gamaelectronics.com.au/QHY9%20prices.html

As it comes with the LRGB filters, carry case, power supply etc etc.

Any suggestion are very welcome as I'm not completely set in stone with this one, it just looks very good for the price and some of the images I've seen in the H-Alpha region are very good too!

Regards
Sam
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-08-2011, 11:07 AM
WingnutR32 (Sam)
Registered User

WingnutR32 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 283
If it assists anyone in making suggestions, I am imaging with a Celestron 8SE with a piggybacked Orion ShortTube.

I don't know whether megapixels are a big thing with astronomy but I would like the resolution to be high enough to print out for wall mounted photos and backgrounds for my 1080p screens.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-08-2011, 11:42 AM
lepton3's Avatar
lepton3 (Ivan)
Registered User

lepton3 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 670
Sam,

The C8SE is alt-az, right?

Be aware you will be restricted to short exposures unless you get a wedge - so Ha will be limited.

Or maybe you have a wedge?

-Ivan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-08-2011, 11:43 AM
WingnutR32 (Sam)
Registered User

WingnutR32 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 283
Hi Ivan,

I have the 8SE on a HEQ5 Pro mount with an Orion ST80 piggybacked for autoguiding.

Exposures of 5minutes guided so far have been no dramas for the 60D apart from major noise due to not be cooled etc.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2011, 12:19 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by WingnutR32 View Post
Hi all,

Thinking about heading down the mono ccd camera route after using my unmodded Canon 60D.

There are SOOOO many options as most would be well aware of. I am after the best bang for buck solution.

The QHY9 is looking quite appealing from these guys:
http://www.gamaelectronics.com.au/QHY9%20prices.html

As it comes with the LRGB filters, carry case, power supply etc etc.

Any suggestion are very welcome as I'm not completely set in stone with this one, it just looks very good for the price and some of the images I've seen in the H-Alpha region are very good too!

Regards
Sam
I went that route too recently and ended up getting a QHY9. Have a chat with Theo [gama on IIS]. With similar specs you also have the SXVR-H18.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-08-2011, 01:36 PM
WingnutR32 (Sam)
Registered User

WingnutR32 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 283
Thanks for your reply Marc,

The QHY9 is sounding better the more I look into it.

Have you had a chance to use your QHY9 yet? I notice in your sig block that you have a QHY8 listed.

Regards
Sam
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-08-2011, 04:11 PM
gbeal
Registered User

gbeal is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 4,301
Marc has eluded to two decent 8300 chipped cameras, but with the backup that Theo supplies I am afraid it is a no-brainer. This coming from a dedicated SX user too.
Gary
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-08-2011, 04:57 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by WingnutR32 View Post
Thanks for your reply Marc,

The QHY9 is sounding better the more I look into it.

Have you had a chance to use your QHY9 yet? I notice in your sig block that you have a QHY8 listed.

Regards
Sam
Yes I have used a QHY8 for 4 yrs now. It's the first model. Not temp regulated. I love this camera. I still use it to do colour but I wanted something with a smaller sensor and a bit more resolution. I like the smaller pixels of the QHY9 and it's also smaller in size so easier on the scope field. As Gary said Theo's a top bloke, local dealer with excellent track record and support and I have no need to shop anywhere else.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-08-2011, 06:58 PM
WingnutR32 (Sam)
Registered User

WingnutR32 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 283
Thanks guys, I have been in contact with Theo and it sounds like you have convinced me enough
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-08-2011, 02:06 PM
WingnutR32 (Sam)
Registered User

WingnutR32 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 283
Well apparently all Canberran astronomers can blame me for the bad weather this weekend.

My QHY9 package arrived from Theo yesterday afternoon and we now have rain.

Have so far done a calibration with Maxim DL and my settings for Gain and Offset ended up at 21% and 84 respectively.

This was based on the scientific procedure written by "Todd Benko & Brant Felix".

Now to work out how to install my filters into the filter wheel. Do I have to pull the wheel apart?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-08-2011, 02:44 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by WingnutR32 View Post
Well apparently all Canberran astronomers can blame me for the bad weather this weekend.

My QHY9 package arrived from Theo yesterday afternoon and we now have rain.
I'll share the blame then. Got mine yesterday arvo too. Seen Sydney weather today?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-08-2011, 02:47 PM
WingnutR32 (Sam)
Registered User

WingnutR32 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 283
Haha nice work Marc. I'm more than happy to share that blame.

I'm in thre process of reading the Maxim DL help files now so I know how to use it when the rain goes away
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-08-2011, 03:40 PM
marki's Avatar
marki
Waiting for next electron

marki is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,427
Read up on the autosave feature in Maxim, very useful for automating mono imaging. Also take note of the led lights on your FW, they light depending on the colour filter eg G, R, B, W and purple for Ha. Match these to the filter positions in the FW, the ascom driver form and on the autosave form in maxim. You may find the delay before first exposure (~ 8 sec as the FW is slow) and delay between exposures (~ 30 - 60 sec depending on mount) settings in the autosave useful as well. The no USB during download setting on the ascom driver can play merry hell with autoguiding but is essential for noise free images...... best to have a gap between exposures to let the guiding settle down. If you have the gear to autofocus then you can set the lot up and leave it to do its thing.

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-08-2011, 05:20 PM
WingnutR32 (Sam)
Registered User

WingnutR32 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 283
Thanks for that information Mark,

I use PHD for guiding, do you think I should be using MaximDL? I thought that PHD might end up being better because of the 'No USB during download' in Maxim.

That autosave feature is exactly what I was looking for information on!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-08-2011, 05:27 PM
Bassnut's Avatar
Bassnut (Fred)
Narrowfield rules!

Bassnut is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by WingnutR32 View Post
My QHY9 package arrived from Theo yesterday ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by multiweb View Post
Got mine yesterday arvo too.
OK, thats long enough, when are you guys upgrading then?.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-08-2011, 05:55 PM
DavidU's Avatar
DavidU (Dave)
Like to learn

DavidU is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: melbourne
Posts: 4,719

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassnut View Post
OK, thats long enough, when are you guys upgrading then?.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-08-2011, 06:32 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassnut View Post
OK, thats long enough, when are you guys upgrading then?.
Are you posting your ST10 to me?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-08-2011, 07:35 PM
marki's Avatar
marki
Waiting for next electron

marki is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by WingnutR32 View Post
Thanks for that information Mark,

I use PHD for guiding, do you think I should be using MaximDL? I thought that PHD might end up being better because of the 'No USB during download' in Maxim.

That autosave feature is exactly what I was looking for information on!
I believe the ascom driver stops all communication via USB during download so I would expect it would stop PHD from communicating as well but I have not tried this so do not know for sure. Maxim is more complex but offers far more fine adjustment then PHD so it could be worth a go. I prefer it to PHD.

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-08-2011, 07:36 PM
marki's Avatar
marki
Waiting for next electron

marki is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by multiweb View Post
Are you posting your ST10 to me?
But would that be an upgrade or down grade

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-08-2011, 10:11 PM
Tandum's Avatar
Tandum (Robin)
Registered User

Tandum is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Carindale, Brisbane.
Posts: 4,113
Quote:
Originally Posted by marki View Post
I believe the ascom driver stops all communication via USB during download so I would expect it would stop PHD from communicating as well but I have not tried this so do not know for sure. Maxim is more complex but offers far more fine adjustment then PHD so it could be worth a go. I prefer it to PHD.

Mark
NO USB During Read Out means don't send the image from the camera until it has been passed to the on camera ram buffer. It doesn't stop any other usb traffic at all. The option name is a little misleading -> http://qhyccd.com/ccdbbs/index.php?P...7&topic=2895.0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 05:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement