#21  
Old 19-10-2005, 07:48 PM
davidpretorius's Avatar
davidpretorius
lots of eyes on you!

davidpretorius is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Launceston Tasmania
Posts: 7,381
poor old mike, with xmas so close and all!!!
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 19-10-2005, 09:31 PM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidpretorius
poor old mike, with xmas so close and all!!!

maybe Santa Elves can Mod the new toucam to operate at 300FPS with a resolution of 12megapixcels

lets hope that he can get his Birdy for Chrissy!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 20-10-2005, 05:05 AM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,709
hmm USB 2 compatible just means it'll run on a USB 2 port, it doesn't mean it will use USB 2 bandwidth.

If it doesn't use the full bandwidth of a USB 2 interface, then there's no point to it.

Thansk very much for ruining my xmas phillips!
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 20-10-2005, 06:12 AM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by iceman
hmm USB 2 compatible just means it'll run on a USB 2 port, it doesn't mean it will use USB 2 bandwidth.

If it doesn't use the full bandwidth of a USB 2 interface, then there's no point to it.

Thansk very much for ruining my xmas phillips!

how can they claim better specs then?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 20-10-2005, 06:30 AM
RB's Avatar
RB (Andrew)
Moderator

RB is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 21,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by h0ughy
how can they claim better specs then?

Maybe someone in Philips got new glasses.

Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 20-10-2005, 06:36 AM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocket Boy
Maybe someone in Philips got new glasses.


No seriously its like comparing a 64 bit sempron 3400+ with a 64 bit Athlon 3400+, the difference is by lightyears
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 20-10-2005, 06:47 AM
RB's Avatar
RB (Andrew)
Moderator

RB is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 21,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by h0ughy
No seriously its like comparing a 64 bit sempron 3400+ with a 64 bit Athlon 3400+, the difference is by lightyears

Yeah I agree Dave, it's disapointing, what's the use if you don't get the bandwidth.

Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 20-10-2005, 07:15 AM
Comet Hunter's Avatar
Comet Hunter
Registered User

Comet Hunter is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: SE QLD
Posts: 381
The sly dogs!! Sorry to get our hopes up guys

However, I have found a true USB2 webcam by Creative - "WebCam Live! Ultra". It has a CCD and not a cmos as it's siblings do, but I haven't managed to find out specifically what chip. Goes for ~$160 from online retailers.... maybe worth checking out??

Edit:

There's also the Logitech Fusion, but doesn't seem to have reached our shores yet.

Wonder why Philips are mucking around with "USB2 compatible", while it's competitors are creating true USB 2 webcams?

Last edited by Comet Hunter; 20-10-2005 at 07:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement