#1  
Old 04-10-2008, 09:47 AM
cookie8's Avatar
cookie8 (Vincent)
Hooked since Halley's

cookie8 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Baulkham Hills,NSW
Posts: 790
Battery issue for Star Trails

I would like to take some "star trails "at the IISAC under dark sky. I know long exposures of say 20mins each are to be stacked. A total exposure time of several hours will be needed. My question is: how can I know the battery in my Canon 400d can last that long? I don't have any AC adapter.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-10-2008, 10:31 AM
sheeny's Avatar
sheeny (Al)
Spam Hunter

sheeny is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Oberon NSW
Posts: 12,688
Hmmm, there's a lot of variables in a question like that...

The life of your battery will depend on things like how new your battery is, the temperature (they don't perform well in the cold), etc.

How many spare batteries do you have, Vincent?

If you have spare batteries, and are concerned about the life of them, then I would suggest taking shorter subs and stacking them. That way, when the battery low warning light comes on, you'll stand a chance of finishing that exposure, and then quickly changing the battery to take the next sub... You might ind a slightly longer gap in the star trail when you change the battery though.

Al.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-10-2008, 11:04 AM
cookie8's Avatar
cookie8 (Vincent)
Hooked since Halley's

cookie8 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Baulkham Hills,NSW
Posts: 790
Al
I have 3 batteries.But changing battery will risk moving the camera and the tripod. If I turn off the LCD would one battery last long enough for say.... 4 hours?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-10-2008, 11:08 AM
RB's Avatar
RB (Andrew)
Moderator

RB is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 21,995
The best thing I can suggest Vincent is to give it a trial run at home with a fully charged battery.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-10-2008, 11:21 AM
Ian Robinson
Registered User

Ian Robinson is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gateshead
Posts: 2,205
A 12VDC adapter would be handy .... does anyone know if anyone is doing one that can be used with a 40D which wont fry the camera's electronics ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-10-2008, 04:42 PM
sheeny's Avatar
sheeny (Al)
Spam Hunter

sheeny is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Oberon NSW
Posts: 12,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by cookie8 View Post
Al
I have 3 batteries.But changing battery will risk moving the camera and the tripod. If I turn off the LCD would one battery last long enough for say.... 4 hours?
Fair call. I can change batteries in my E-510 without moving the camera or tripod. Otherwise, I agree with Andrew... do a trial run at home.

Al.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-10-2008, 09:43 PM
StarLane's Avatar
StarLane
Futurist

StarLane is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Gold Coast QLD Australia
Posts: 232
I reckon 4 hours will be too much anyway. I have plenty of experience with star trails and around 45min to 1 hour is plenty. Anything over this will just burn the brighter parts of the sky and leave you with a shot lacking in detail in some parts. Anything from 20 to 30 minutes will give you a decent result, but I guess it depends on the effect you are after, and it also depends on the sky quality. Try 4 hours if you like but I think you will experience burnout in some areas and other areas will be fine, 45mins or so, batteries shouldn't be a prob if charged fully, or buy a manual film camera (just for trails) which doesn't need batteries. If you are after the south celestial pole circular effect, then at least 1 hour will work well, for this result, alittle more than an hour will also work good, but 4 hours??, not sure the dynamic range of the camera will handle it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-10-2008, 12:23 AM
Ian Robinson
Registered User

Ian Robinson is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gateshead
Posts: 2,205
Been doing some surfing to find out .... found this .... there appears to be a 12VDC adapter for the 40D , CB-570 .

https://www.camerasdirect.com.au/ind...ery-cable.html

Looks the go .... anyone using one of these ?
Attached Files
File Type: doc 40D accessories.doc (64.0 KB, 6 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-10-2008, 10:27 PM
Ian Robinson
Registered User

Ian Robinson is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gateshead
Posts: 2,205
Finally got the 40D out of the box and been reading the manual , getting used to the menus and getting a handle on what the basic programs do.

Yet to suss out how to manually set the ASA , know I do this up to 3200 in 1/3 step increments , in the advanced settings somewhere.

Happened across an assessories diagram near the back of the manual that indicates the camera can be operated using a DC adapter (DR400)
http://www.canon.com.au/products/slr...rces/1512.html
that is used in place of the battery or battery pack, but it has pecular input cable that plugs an AC-DC adapter (the AC-E2).


Seems the plug is particular to Canon only :
http://www.camerahacker.com/Canon_Ac...0_pinout.shtml.

Is anyone using a DR400 connected pretty much directly to 12VDC adapter ? What 12VDC adapter is it ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 03:31 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement