Old 07-07-2014, 12:37 PM
PSALM19.1 (Shaun)

Worst seeing in history

Ok, so Saturday night was THE worst seeing I have ever seen...or not seen...or whatever....Saturn looked like one of those glow in the dark planets that kids (and a few adults) stick on their ceilings...no Casini, no stripe, no nuthin'! Even the moon was bad...could it be the strong winds maybe....?
Old 07-07-2014, 12:58 PM
Astro_Bot

I'm no expert, and there are other factors, but the jetstream was pushing 140 knots in places over the weekend in NSW and southern QLD.

(I idly wonder to myself whether wind speed and direction at other altitudes play a role - creating wind shear or other turbulence - I think they probably do).

Last edited by Astro_Bot; 07-07-2014 at 01:10 PM.
Old 07-07-2014, 01:59 PM
kkara4 (Krishan)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Astro_Bot View Post
I'm no expert, and there are other factors, but the jetstream was pushing 140 knots in places over the weekend in NSW and southern QLD.

(I idly wonder to myself whether wind speed and direction at other altitudes play a role - creating wind shear or other turbulence - I think they probably do).
today the jetstream is again extremely fast, but wind direction at all heights is largely the same today, so I wonder how this will correspond to seeing, since this means there is little vertical shear.
Old 07-07-2014, 02:25 PM
Rob_K

All relative I suppose. Here the worst seeing is when Saturn is being ripped apart, bad seeing is when it's a shimmering blob & you can vaguely make the ring out, fair seeing is when you can see the ring & disk clearly, good seeing is when you get glimpses of the Cassini Division in moments of steadiness, and excellent seeing is... well, I've no idea actually!