Old 11-11-2012, 01:27 PM
04Stefan07 (Stefan)
Make it so! - Capt.Picard

DSLR sensor question

Been doing test photos of the sun for the eclipse coming up and I think my sensor needs a clean. I cleaned the UV filter and lens so I am assuming it's the sensor that needs a clean.

Just wanted to ask everyone's opinions as I am new to using DSLR's and still learning!

Image attached.

Looks like a smudge, can be seen more when zoomed in, that was using a 75-300 lens not zoomed in.

How do you guys clean the sensor as I can imagine everyone has their own way. I have a Canon lens cleaning kit with 2 of these sensor swabs. Looked up stuff online but I would also like your advice. Do you guys add some fluid to the swab because it came with some cleaning fluid in a little spray bottle.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (IMG_8266.jpg)
149.3 KB80 views
Click for full-size image (IMG_1061.JPG)
80.1 KB68 views
Old 11-11-2012, 04:19 PM
peeb61 (Paul)
Always looking up

Hi Stefan,
I use the Arctic Butterfly, it's a battery operated anti static brush, I picked it up from CameraHouse. Bought for my Canon 350D.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k8NSj...eature=related

Paul

Last edited by peeb61; 11-11-2012 at 05:02 PM. Reason: added web link.
Old 11-11-2012, 06:19 PM
leon

Stefan, I have a Canon 5D, which i clean on a regular basis.
I first use a Giotto Blower to blast any dust off, and then just use a good quality lens pen, works a treat every time and it is spotless.

The filter in front of the sensor is tougher than led to believe.

However this is my way of doing it and if you don't feel confident than ask how others do it.

Leon
Old 11-11-2012, 07:32 PM
dannat (Daniel)
daniel

I also have one f the big Giotto blowers, they are great.
If its real dirty don't be afraid f the sensor cleaning fluid & swabs. Ake sure the battery I good cos if th mirror slaps down while your wiping it th mechanism can be ent then you're stuffed.