Old 02-03-2008, 03:28 PM
Matty P (Matt)
Star Struck

Canon 40D or Canon 450D?

I am currently on the look out for my first DSLR camera. I will be using it for both astrophotgraphy and general use.

I recently went to a camera store and had a look at different cameras. The one that stood out the most was the Canon 40D. I have to say that it is well built and feels like a small tank. However, I was told that the 450D was about to be released in April. The 450D has 12mp compared to the 10mp that the 40D has. Also, I am pretty sure that the 450D will be much lighter.

So, I was just wondering which one would be better for astrophotography and general use. The Canon 40D or 450D?

P.S. This will be my first DSLR camera so I have little or no experience with these kind of cameras.

Old 02-03-2008, 04:10 PM
madtuna (Steve)
an overactive imagination

Hi Matty..I'm no expert..far from it., and nothing I write here is probably any help lol. I was in the same position as you a couple of weeks ago and have just bought the 40D

The 450D is much lighter being a synthetic body as opposed to the magnesium body of the 40D which would have to be an advantage.

As you mentioned, 12 mp versus 10 mp. The 450D also has the SD card which would have been better for me as I have SD cards coming out my wazoo.
Price wise it is supposedly going to be much cheaper than the 40D also.

My problem was the 450D is not due to be released until after I've been on my OS trip, and even then Canon could not give me a firm release date.

When it does come out I'll be buying it aswell and have it as a dedicated astro cam and keep the 40D for general work.
Old 02-03-2008, 05:05 PM
mick pinner
Astrolounge

l would think the 450D would be the better buy, presumably it will be a lot cheaper with the same if not more features. not long to wait.
Old 02-03-2008, 06:42 PM
allan gould

Ive faced the ame problem but figured I'll wait for the 450d and see what price it rolls out at
Old 02-03-2008, 06:44 PM