Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Equipment Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21  
Old 10-02-2010, 09:05 AM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,560
I still will get the switch changed at some time, i am sure that at some critical point it will fail
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-02-2010, 09:47 PM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,560
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Ward View Post
That particular switch was phased out many years ago as, yes, it does burn out (the higher current draw of the servo's was not anticipated)

Newer revision PCB's use a totally different (high current) switch.

You can either replace it yourself, or send it to a servicing Losmandy dealer
( no prizes) who will replace it for $37.00 (inc return post)
Peter,

I will send it the next full moon, the switch buggered up again tonight but eventually turned on - then so did the weather. Can you post what the new switch will look like - is it bigger? Also Can you PM me the address to send it
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 14-02-2010, 08:26 PM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,560
I'll send it tomorrow - given the weeks forecast will be rain and showers every day - it doesnt look promising
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 31-08-2019, 12:42 PM
thomqos's Avatar
thomqos (Russell)
Registered User

thomqos is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Frankston, Vic.
Posts: 47
Reviving a very old thread; Tried to power up my G11S Model 492 drive last night after 10 months of no use... Nothing! Absolutely nothing!!! So I had to play the dobsonian game for the night and push the mount around.

I got this mount in 2013-14 and the switch has always been a bit dicky, exactly as others have described below. But last night it didn't want to play the game, I was suspecting a more serious electronic problem actually.

So I found this thread, pulled the circuit board out of it's box and toggled the switch back and forth furiously about 50 times... Then it finally turned on! Oh how frustrating.!!

So I'm off to Jaycar to see if I can source a replacement switch....
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 31-08-2019, 02:09 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 18,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomqos View Post
Reviving a very old thread; Tried to power up my G11S Model 492 drive last night after 10 months of no use... Nothing! Absolutely nothing!!! So I had to play the dobsonian game for the night and push the mount around.

I got this mount in 2013-14 and the switch has always been a bit dicky, exactly as others have described below. But last night it didn't want to play the game, I was suspecting a more serious electronic problem actually.

So I found this thread, pulled the circuit board out of it's box and toggled the switch back and forth furiously about 50 times... Then it finally turned on! Oh how frustrating.!!

So I'm off to Jaycar to see if I can source a replacement switch....
Might want to talk to Brendan (wasyoungonce)
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 31-08-2019, 03:38 PM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,312
Russell i's the switch as usual. The contacts just go bad, quite normal in DC switches.


OEM is C&K Switch 1101M2S3CBE2. That's a silver plated contact....I do believe there are gold plated contact versions available (which should last longer) but I haven't seen any of these.



Best just replace with the OEM:
RS Components: 161-7640 $6.41 or E14: 1437698 $9.44 + $post There are cheaper switches that would fit....but...IMHO...use to correct one. If you solder it in....Keep heat on the pins to a minimum as heat allows contaminates to form on the contacts.



I have one new in my spares. Same switch was used in some earlier Gemini 1's. If you want me to replace it I can as I'm keen to get a copy of the EEPROM firmware. I have all parts for the 492 system except the firmware.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 31-08-2019, 08:43 PM
thomqos's Avatar
thomqos (Russell)
Registered User

thomqos is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Frankston, Vic.
Posts: 47
Thanks for the part number Brendan! Jaycar had nothing remotely like it. I might buy a few...
I'm handy with a soldering iron, so I'll be right to replace it myself, but thanks for the offer.
You're welcome to copy the firmware if we ever bump into each other with an EEPROM firmware reader, lol!
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 04-09-2019, 07:39 PM
thomqos's Avatar
thomqos (Russell)
Registered User

thomqos is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Frankston, Vic.
Posts: 47
I ordered 3 of the OEM switches from Radio Spares & they turned up today... But I have 'fixed' the original switch for now... Anyway, I have the spares now to deal with the inevitable when it happens!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 05:11 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement