Old 28-02-2019, 02:18 AM
Astro_Hoff (Leigh)

ASI224MC Stuck Pixels

I am new to astrophotography and have a question about my ASI camera. It seems it has about 5 stuck pixels. When using LIVE STACK on SharpCap they become very obvious and ruin the output picture by leaving a bright green trails. Is it normal to have this many stuck pixels? Or should i return it?

I know these can be erased with processing in DSS etc, but they are really annoying for live EAA.

Please help.
Thankyou

PS. It is attached to this
https://skywatcheraustralia.com.au/p...discovery-red/

EQ mount on the way and hopefully an APO to follow soon
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Stack_135frames_675s_WithDisplayStretch.jpg)
22.7 KB84 views
Old 28-02-2019, 04:36 PM
ChrisV (Chris)

I don't know how many hot pixels you might expect to see in a new camera. My asi224 is a few years old now and has a few hot pixels (but I haven't counted them). So not sure if it's bad enough to return. Maybe others can answer this??

But if you persist with it - When live stacking in sharpcap I always first collect darks and then ask sharpcap to subtract them (it's under preprocessing) while stacking. This will remove the hot pixels, and also the amp glow with this camera. I do this all the time when doing live stacking. It doesn't take long as I rarely use subs longer than 15sec. Doing 8x darks only takes a few minutes.

I sometimes also do some sky flats. But more so with larger sensor cameras.
Old 28-02-2019, 05:07 PM
Mosc_007 (Charles)

I would not call those Green lines Hot pixels. There are 3 area's in the image with exactly the same green trail.

I would suspect its more likely a reflection somewhere in the optics.
Old 28-02-2019, 05:11 PM
The_bluester (Paul)

Just trying to work out why they are trailing like that. Unless the scope is moving around quite a bit and the stacking is pinning stars down out of frames significantly offset from each other?