Old 16-04-2018, 02:25 PM
Paul Haese

From Ford to Ferrari; I hope

As some of you know I have been using a GSO12 f4 Newtonian for the last 8 months or so. I am still trying to sort problems with stability and have nearly narrowed down all the problems but I am convinced I will need to do a rebuild of the secondary cage and spider eventually. That will take some time and might mean months of not being able to image.

Having grown tired of being a beta tester, I have over the weekend expended a significant sum of money on one of these. My thinking here is that these systems are mature and likely to produce the results I am after from the time I place the scope on the mount.

I ordered it with 1/10 PV Optics, Atlas Kit, CNC supporting rings, an adapter to fit with the QSI683 and the Wynne corrector.

I guess the wait will be quite long. Chris Venter and Mike Sidonio waited 6-7 months for their scopes to arrive. I hope it will be shorter than that.

Time appears to have come to a stand still now. Is there a way of moving forward quickly yet?
Old 16-04-2018, 02:48 PM
RickS (Rick)
PI cult recruiter

I wish I'd known you were interested, Paul. I have one sitting at home that's not seen starlight yet. I ordered it and while I was waiting for it to arrive the Ceravolo 300 came up for sale...

Hope your wait isn't too long.

Cheers,
Rick.
Old 16-04-2018, 02:48 PM
LewisM
Novichok test rabbit

Paul, did you read of the horror stories with Orion UK that have been happening in the past couple of years???? Myastroshop here in Aus dropped them completely as they refused to work on a VERY sub-standard scope. Various interferometry sites on the web are reporting Strehls of as low as 0.5...to the point they cannot even measure a reading on them because of the "swept polish".

http://www.ssmassey.com/reviews/ODK10-review.htm

Can you withdraw? Is it worth it to take a crap-shoot?
Old 16-04-2018, 06:05 PM
Paul Haese

Quote:
Originally Posted by RickS View Post