Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Astrophotography and Imaging Equipment and Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 24-11-2007, 09:22 AM
Garyh's Avatar
Garyh
Amongst the stars

Garyh is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Glen Innes, N.S.W.
Posts: 2,847
Thumbs up Anyone using the undutchables firmware for the 300D

Hi peoples...
Just wondering if any of you canon 300D owners have tried the undutchables firmware?
I have just installed it and it works like a charm...
Now I have mirror lockup and I can use RAW and CWB in basic mode plus many other little benefits.
This is a great firmware upgrade for a modded 300D.
cheers Gary

Last edited by Garyh; 24-11-2007 at 12:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-11-2007, 10:33 AM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
I've been using it from the first day I bought my camera Gary and it has worked like a charm from day one.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-11-2007, 11:16 AM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,720
Why the big red thumbs down then Gary? Sounds like it would be a great mod for 300D owners.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-11-2007, 11:52 AM
Sharnbrook (Mike)
Registered User

Sharnbrook is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toowoomba
Posts: 359
Yes, why the thumbs down?

I have used the Wasia Hack (which preceded the Undutchables) for about 2 years or so, and find the mirror lock up especially good. Absolutely no negative issues at all.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24-11-2007, 12:56 PM
Garyh's Avatar
Garyh
Amongst the stars

Garyh is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Glen Innes, N.S.W.
Posts: 2,847
Sorry guys..that should have been a thumbsup! My mistake
I knew about the wassa firmware before I bought the camera but have always been a bit wary about using it. Done some research about the the undutchables and there seemed like 90% positive comments about it. So went and upgraded yesterday and had a play and I like it!!!

The custom white balance and shooting in RAW in basic is a real hit as when we go on holidays etc my wife can use it in it full auto mode without having red images. Much more handy for a quick pic on the go..The mirror lockup will be great when doing moon shots etc...
Now only if I could lock the mirror up for multiple exposures! that would be great for deepsky work!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25-11-2007, 08:29 PM
solissydney (Ken)
Registered User

solissydney is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 660
Iso 3200

Don't forget ISO speed of 3200 which is really useful for taking snap shots of
a faint deep sky object you think should be in the field of view.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26-11-2007, 10:12 AM
Garyh's Avatar
Garyh
Amongst the stars

Garyh is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Glen Innes, N.S.W.
Posts: 2,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by solissydney View Post
Don't forget ISO speed of 3200 which is really useful for taking snap shots of
a faint deep sky object you think should be in the field of view.

Ah yes! I forgot that, great for framing a deepsky object with a quick shot. Have to give that a go!...thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26-11-2007, 10:40 AM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 31,594
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garyh View Post
Ah yes! I forgot that, great for framing a deepsky object with a quick shot. Have to give that a go!...thanks
just remember to switch it back after you find it I forgot quite a few times. the mirror lockup timer is a beauty as well, it work flawlessly when I had mine
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-12-2007, 02:37 AM
rogerco's Avatar
rogerco (Roger)
Roger

rogerco is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Woodford,NSW,Australia
Posts: 388
Is this only for Canon? I am looking for something like this for Nikon D70S can I have a link to a site please.

Roger
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-12-2007, 08:01 AM
Garyh's Avatar
Garyh
Amongst the stars

Garyh is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Glen Innes, N.S.W.
Posts: 2,847
Hi Roger, this is just for the canon 300D.
I don`t think there are any around for the D70s.
Found pages that talk about upgrading a D70 to a D70s but you already have it!
Like this below
http://www.the-scream.co.uk/forums/t18792.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 10:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement