#1  
Old 03-06-2007, 11:04 AM
Zander's Avatar
Zander
n00b

Zander is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 80
cleaning TouCam CCD

hi guys, i noticed last night when imaging that there is some dust particles on my camera CCD which show up as black spots on screen. i was wondering how i'd go about cleaning the CCD an what precautions i should take.
thnks

Regards,
Zander
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2007, 11:18 AM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
It may be overkill but I use an Arctic Butterfly. Mind you I have a number of chips to clean.

Whatever you do, DON'T USE CANNED AIR!!! No matter how hard you try you will get contaminant on your chip. Avoid blowing in it for the same reason. Try a simple photographic puffer bulb for a cheap effective system. I have been known to use CLEAN cotton buds, gently , but can end up with more lint than I started with. I've also used a fine sable brush dipped and shaken out really well in demineralized water and isopropyl alcohol. Then just gently wiped across the glass cover.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-2007, 11:21 AM
Zander's Avatar
Zander
n00b

Zander is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 80
thnx for advice. i'll try blowing it off with a puffer
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-06-2007, 11:39 AM
matt's Avatar
matt
6000 post club member

matt is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Mount Annan, Australia
Posts: 6,569
My routine:

1. Blower bulb for easily removed particles.

2. Dry Q-Tip (cotton bud) wiped very gently (repeatedly if necessary) in one direction across ccd chip.

3. For stubborn particles (rare) a light spray of Bintel 'snake oil' UHTC fluid over Q-Tip, gently passed over ccd chip.

Works for me
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-06-2007, 01:50 PM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,720
I just dip a q-tip in de-mineralised water and wipe it across. Sometimes you still have some on there, or introduce some new ones, but eventually you get them all off
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-06-2007, 08:59 AM
ving's Avatar
ving (David)
~Dust bunny breeder~

ving is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The town of campbells
Posts: 12,359
blower and q-tip for me too
if i have any dust particles on the outter extremities sometimes i leave them and just dont image in that area (when doing planets).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-06-2007, 08:58 PM
ballaratdragons's Avatar
ballaratdragons (Ken)
The 'DRAGON MAN'

ballaratdragons is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In the Dark at Snake Valley, Victoria
Posts: 14,412
I guess I've just been lucky.

I don't give my Toucam any special treatment (like locking it in dustproof cases etc) and for over 12 months it has been dropped several times, accidentally left on the table overnight a few times (unprotected) carted around to Camps and club nights in a cardboard box of bits, wringing wet when left in the rain a few times , and when I'm not carting it about, it lives outside in the scope, which is most of the time.

I don't use a cover on it, and yet I still don't have one speck of dust on the chip!
And we get a LOT of dust around here with all the dirt roads and windblown paddocks!!!

And yet I get a lot of dust on my EP's when they sit outside the EP case for a few hours.

Wierd but lucky.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-06-2007, 12:08 PM
ving's Avatar
ving (David)
~Dust bunny breeder~

ving is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The town of campbells
Posts: 12,359
thats right peeps, ken uses a force filed to protect his!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-06-2007, 07:26 PM
jjjnettie's Avatar
jjjnettie (Jeanette)
Registered User

jjjnettie is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gladstone
Posts: 16,730
I think I've got mould on my chip.
It shows up as a couple of grey shadows. I can't see anything on the chip itself.
So just wipe it off with a cotton bud?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-06-2007, 07:28 PM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
If they are grey shadows Jeanette then it's unlikely the spots are on the chip. Dust motes on the chip are often (not always) more sharply defined. If you are using a barlow, I'd check that as the culprit, or your IR filter, if you are using one.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-06-2007, 09:55 AM
jjjnettie's Avatar
jjjnettie (Jeanette)
Registered User

jjjnettie is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gladstone
Posts: 16,730
I wasn't using a barlow at the time.
The camera was last used when it was very dewey. Maybe it isn't mould, could be spots left from condensation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 04:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement