Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Equipment Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 14-09-2020, 06:49 PM
Star Hunter
Registered User

Star Hunter is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ellesmere, Qld
Posts: 195
EQ* R Pro will not connect to Sky X program

How does one connect an EQ 8 Pro to The Sky X - serious edition via a USB (type B into the rear of the mount) and at the other end, a normal USB type A cable, so it will show up as a Com # in that program, in the PC?

Is there an USB type A/RS232 adaptor and if so, Would that work?

I've tried a Type B USB cable into the Synscan HC (in PC mode) and ran that cable to the PC's USB input and it showed up the Sky X as Com 3, but hallo, the Sky X will not connect the mount.

Anyone had this problem and solved it?

Thanks,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-09-2020, 09:07 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,585
Itís probably not what you want to hear but if your only requiring Goto / pointing and tracking software for your EQ8-R to navigate , find targets and track across the night , any reason why you didnít choose Eqmod and a planetarium like Stellarium or Cartes Du Ciel ?? Itís free , originally designed for Skywatcher mounts very accurate and reliable
Sky X is pretty pricy software isnít it ??
I also have the procedures for direct connection with your USBA to USBB Cable to the latest Skywatcher EQ6-R and EQ8-R mounts
I still use EQMOD and the EQ Direct method with shoestring cable with Stellarium Scope and the planetarium Stellarium even though my EQ6-R has the latest USBB port ( my EQ Direct cable with RJ45 plug inserts into the mounts handcontroller port as per EQ Direct standard )

Iím interested in your choice of software
Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-09-2020, 09:37 PM
Star Hunter
Registered User

Star Hunter is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ellesmere, Qld
Posts: 195
EQ8 R Pro will not connect to Sky X

Quote:
Originally Posted by Startrek View Post
Itís probably not what you want to hear but if your only requiring Goto / pointing and tracking software for your EQ8-R to navigate , find targets and track across the night , any reason why you didnít choose Eqmod and a planetarium like Stellarium or Cartes Du Ciel ?? Itís free , originally designed for Skywatcher mounts very accurate and reliable
Sky X is pretty pricy software isnít it ??
I also have the procedures for direct connection with your USBA to USBB Cable to the latest Skywatcher EQ6-R and EQ8-R mounts
I still use EQMOD and the EQ Direct method with shoestring cable with Stellarium Scope and the planetarium Stellarium even though my EQ6-R has the latest USBB port ( my EQ Direct cable with RJ45 plug inserts into the mounts handcontroller port as per EQ Direct standard )

Iím interested in your choice of software
Cheers
Thanks for the reply.

I already had Sky X on the PC I got upgraded to work faster so I updated Sky X as its new version runs the EQ 8 R.

I've tried EQMOD, Cartes and Stellarium and while they too show the mount is on the PC's Com 3 port, none of them will connect.

I just want to connect the mount using a Type B to Type A cable to into an RS232 adapter, then into the Serial port on the PC.

I've been using SB for over 20 years for SN search.

Am I making sense of all this?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-09-2020, 06:04 AM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,585
Fair enough understand your issue
Going from USB to serial is tricky
The easiest way ( obviously not cheapest ) is to buy a new PC ( they all now have USB2 and USB3 ports )
Your PC must be quite a few years old if it still has DB9 or DB15 serial ports
Other than that , there are some IIS members who are familiar with serial to USB conversion cables , they have a certain chipset and voltage that can handshake across the to different types of media connectivity
Hopefully someone will chime in
Good luck !!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-09-2020, 09:33 PM
g__day's Avatar
g__day (Matthew)
Tech Guru

g__day is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,606
Why not just add a $40 2 port startech.com PCI or PCIe to serial port adapter card to your PC - works a treat for my old Vixen gear. example



https://www.scorptec.com.au/product/...r_pricing=true
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23-09-2020, 09:32 AM
Star Hunter
Registered User

Star Hunter is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ellesmere, Qld
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Startrek View Post
Fair enough understand your issue
Going from USB to serial is tricky
The easiest way ( obviously not cheapest ) is to buy a new PC ( they all now have USB2 and USB3 ports )
Your PC must be quite a few years old if it still has DB9 or DB15 serial ports
Other than that , there are some IIS members who are familiar with serial to USB conversion cables , they have a certain chipset and voltage that can handshake across the to different types of media connectivity
Hopefully someone will chime in
Good luck !!
The PC is new. It has 16G RAM and a i9 core CPU and an 1TV SSD. It has both USB 2 and 3 ports.

I need to change the USB from the EQ8 R Pro into a Com port so the SkyX can read and connect.

You say you have a procedure to do this?

I have 4 other USB cable mints and they too, will want to connect the SkyX via their USB Type a plugs.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23-09-2020, 02:29 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,585
Quote:
Originally Posted by Star Hunter View Post
The PC is new. It has 16G RAM and a i9 core CPU and an 1TV SSD. It has both USB 2 and 3 ports.

I need to change the USB from the EQ8 R Pro into a Com port so the SkyX can read and connect.

You say you have a procedure to do this?

I have 4 other USB cable mints and they too, will want to connect the SkyX via their USB Type a plugs.
Jim

Hereís my post on Ascom control of EQ6-R and EQ8-R mounts using EQMOD and Stellarium via USB port
Sky X would be similar I presume
Sorry for the length of report and procedure but it gives you some background and an important setting towards the end regarding the port

Hope this is of some help
Martin


Itís been bugging me for months to find more detailed information so after researching over the past week on the web hereís my summary of procedures for using Ascom control for your Skywatcher and Orion telescope mount with EQMOD users of Stellarium version 0.19.3 and later ( without the use of StellariumScope )

History
StellariumScope was developed by Scott Pinkham of ByteArts in 2007 as a third party software to configure Stellarium, connect your mount and provide functionality with slew, stop and sync commands thereby providing Stellarium with Ascom support for the control of the telescope mount.Stellariumscope connects to Stellarium as 3 separate telescopes. From a Stellarium perspective when you press cntrl 1 it commands telescope 1 to Goto the selected object, cntrl 2 moves telescope 2 and cntrl 3 moves telescope 3 in the same way.Stellariumscope receives a notification when each of these moves are activated but for telescope 2 and telescope 3 it simply uses these notification events as triggers to initiate Ascom Stop and Sync functions.The telescope 3 Sync function has nothing to do with Stellarium at all, Stellarium doesnít even know its happening it thinks itís moving a telescope.Now this is where EQASCOM uses this telescope 3 function to add Sync points to its alignment model ( n - point alignment ) You can make as many sync points or alignment points as you like and EQASCOM will apply the most appropriate transformation to make pointing corrections. In late 2019 developer Gion Kunz finally provided Ascom telescope support in Stellarium version 0.19.3 onward thus eliminating the requirement to use StellariumScope in the future.StellariumScope can still be used but the developer recommends you adopt Ascom control

For EQMOD users obviously the latest Ascom platform drivers must be installed as well as the EQASCOM driver and Stellarium version 0.19.3

Procedure to use Ascom control of telescope with Stellarium ( StellariumScope no longer required )
1/ Open Stellarium
2/ Select Configuration tab F2
3/ Select Plugins tab
4/ At the bottom of the drop down list select Telescope Control
5/ In Telescope Control tick Load at start up
6/ Close Configuration window and shut down Stellarium
7/ Restart Stellarium and reconfigure Telescope Control by selecting Configuration F2 again , then Plugins tab, then Telescope control on left hand side drop down list , then press wide flat button ďconfigureĒ
8/ In Telescope window press button ďAddĒ and then select ďAscomĒ as your telescope control and name your telescope or mount
8/ Select ďChoose your TelescopeĒthen the Ascom Telescope Chooser appears so then select EQMOD HEQ5/6
9/ Click OK
10/ Select the telescope control you have listed , normally the first one automatically pops up
11/ Select ďConnectĒ and then the Ascom telescope control should connect EQMOD to mount
12/ You should now be able to see your named scope and target icon in the sky view of Stellarium
13/ Donít forget to manually Unpark EQMOD before you slew to a target
14/ Default key functions for Stellarium are as follows -
CTRL + 1 slew to target
CTRL + Shift + 1 Sync scope ( adds alignment point )
CTRL + Alt + Shift + 1 Cancels scope operation
NB: Other key functions may be assigned in Windows to simplify number of key strokes
NB: Ensure your site location details in Stellarium match the site location details in the Ascom EQMOD set Up window

Serial USB Cable Connections to Mount ( EQMOD)

The most effective and reliable way to connect to the mount is via the EQ Direct method ( laptop direct to mount with a USB2EQ5 cable , hand controller removed )
The new Skywatcher EQ6-R mount now has the option of an additional USB serial port connection which only requires a standard USB2A to USB2B cable ( Max 5m length )
The only changes Iím aware of to facilitate connection between mount and laptop using a standard USB2A to USB2B cable is change the baud rate in the EQMOD port settings in the Ascom EQMOD Set Up window and change the baud rate in the USB serial comm port found in Device Manager, Ports,Properties and Port Settings. The baud rate should be changed from 9600 to 115200 ( using the old conventional shoestring serial USB cable , USB2EQ5 , the baud rate in the Ascom EQMOD Set Up and Serial Port worked with 9600 )

I welcome any comments , further information or errors in the procedures or documentation

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23-09-2020, 02:48 PM
Xeteth (David)
Registered User

Xeteth is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 122
Jim, I had a similar issue with my EQ6-R where the com port would show up but no communication seemed to take place. I was using EQMOD for connection and it ended up that I had to select the right 'Baud rate' in the EQMOD connection settings. I have absolutely no idea what this setting means, but changing it to 115200 made the connection actually work. I got this solution from the cloudy nights thread linked below, first post by MikeECha.
https://www.cloudynights.com/topic/6...-issue-solved/

I have no idea if this could be your issue, but thought it worth posting since it's similar to my issue where there com port would show but no communication happened.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 10:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement