Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 09-04-2006, 06:43 PM
Carl

astro photography on a budget

Hi folks
I'm new at all this user groups stuff so please be gentle.
I have just about completed my dome and want to get set up for photography, but as with most people I don't have a bottomless pit of cash.
I have a Celestron SCT G8 on equatorial mount, not computerised which is about to be mounted on a permanant pier with drive systems.
I am looking at buying a canon 350 digital SLR to take photos.
1. If i purchase software such as dslr focuser does this negate the need to buy an off axis guider or guider scope. Does this software allow you to locate a guide star, focus and continualy update the image so you can adjust your tracking?
2. If I do not buy the software how do I ensure that my image is in focus?
3. Or should i forget about the software and just use a guider scope or off axis guider?
4. Is there anyone out there currently taking pics with the above camera or similar who could point me in the right direction?
If anyone can give me advise it would be greatly appreciated

please excuse the spelling.

Carl
Old 09-04-2006, 07:08 PM
Striker (Tony)
Whats visual Astronomy

Hi carl and welcome.

Your comparing programs and hardware that are both needed....they dont do the same job.

DSLR Focus is a teriffic program but it does not have anything to do with guiding...it will help you get focus accurately and will handle all your exposures but this has all to do with actual imaging not guiding.

I use it to occasional check focus but my main purpose is it controls all my exposures and mirror lock.

I use this software and a guide scope....one will not do the others job...completely different area we are talking about here.
Old 09-04-2006, 07:24 PM
acropolite (Phil)

Quote:
Originally Posted by striker
I use this software and a guide scope
Missing something there Tony I think.