ANZAC Day
Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 29-01-2009, 02:57 PM
Lee022

10" Saxon dob for deep space?

Hey guys im quite new to all this, and im thankful i found this site.
Just a quick question what deep sky objects are worth looking at with a 10" dob. Ive got a ALP antares filter aswell as various eyepieces. Any thoughts???
Old 29-01-2009, 03:35 PM
stevejack (Steve)

Hi Lee,
I am new to this as well and also have a 10" dob. Other more experienced members will be able to chime in with more exact information, but if you havent already - take a look at 47tuc (globular cluster) which is next to the SMC.
Orion Nebula is always easy to see even with the moon around - and if you are under dark skies take a look at the Tarantula Nebula which is in the LMC. Actually just pan around the entire area of the LMC, it really looks great through a 10".

As for galaxies, I can't remember the NGCs but there are quite a few worth taking a look at (though don't expect to see spiral arms or any real detail for most of them). I saw around half a dozen galaxies last weekend but high winds made viewing difficult.

Sorry I can't help further but I'm sure someone else will be able to give you better info (especially for using your filters)!
Cheers
Steve
Old 29-01-2009, 04:11 PM
JethroB76 (Jeff)

Do you have an atlas or a planetarium program? (Cartes Du Ceil and Stellarium are very good free examples)

Many people start by looking for the Messier list objects, but there are many more to see, especially with a 10"er

Have a look in the Observational Astronomy subforum here on IIS; also you could do a search for threads by "glenc" which generally contain many many lists of objects to observe - normally sorted by object type, magnitude, whatever..

*EDIT* heres the search results I mentioned
http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/s...earchid=982714
Old 29-01-2009, 04:35 PM
stevejack (Steve)