Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Software and Computers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21  
Old 15-01-2020, 05:01 PM
morls (Stephen)
Space is the place...

morls is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 567
Ok, thanks.
Just been reading on another forum...the procedure described there (in 2017) is to align scope and get a star centred before connecting to Stellarium, after which you select the star and the choose 'sync' in Stellarium to let it know where the mount is pointing.
As I'm very new to all this I could well be missing something.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 16-01-2020, 09:43 AM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,787
Sounds about right
When I use EQMOD you align your first star on Stellarium and then sync ( CTRL +3 , then select a second star say 50 degrees away and then slew to it, you end up being very close to that second star , then you sync again and so and so on. The more you sync objects theaccurate your Goto becomes , particularly if you sync 3 stars around your final intended target in a triangular formation , the accuracy is excellent , almost perfectly framed. EQMOD has sophisticated pointing algorithms which form itís accurate pointing model when syncing
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 16-01-2020, 12:09 PM
morls (Stephen)
Space is the place...

morls is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 567
So does EQMOD provide all the reference maps and algorithms, while Stellarium is just the interface? (the maps in Stellarium aren't used as reference for GOTO and mount control)
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 16-01-2020, 01:48 PM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 7,215
Stephen,
No not really...
The EQMod is the "drivers" for the SW mount motors (to replace the "smarts" in the Synscan)
The instructions can either be sent directly from the EQMod interface - basic motor movements - up/ down/ left/ right/ and slew at various speeds..
It also, using the motor indexes, knows where the mount should be pointing.
This allows it to move the mount and provides basic tracking....
OK, but not exciting....

Connect to EQMod via CdC and the interface becomes more interesting.
Using CdC to can select a star and get the mount to slew to it. You can also improve the GOTO accuracy by "syncing" stars as you go.

That's the basics.....
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 16-01-2020, 02:16 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,787
Stephen
EQMOD was developed for advanced telescope control on Synta mounts ( mostly Skywatcher and Orion brands )
EQMOD consists of an application called EQASCOM which provides the mounts functionality and acts as the Ascom server allowing client applications like the planetarium Stellarium to drive the mount
EQASCOM is the mounts control driver , the other applications build upon this driver platform and can be thought of as plug ins
Essentially EQASCOM replaces the Synscan handcontroller but does much more
with advance alignment , advanced Gotoís , advanced tracking, PEC training, park scope function, object data base via your client application like Stellarium, advanced pointing models using Sync function , auto guiding etc..etc...
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 16-01-2020, 02:19 PM
morls (Stephen)
Space is the place...

morls is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 567
Thanks Ken and Martin, it's a bit of a learning curve for me.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 23-01-2020, 09:12 AM
CalvinKlein's Avatar
CalvinKlein (Kelvin)
Registered User

CalvinKlein is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Cudgen NSW
Posts: 140
Very interesting ! I've been using EQMOD / StellariumScope / Stellarium since I first bough my EQ6-R nearly two years ago. It just "works" for me. (though I've been dreading the day that a Stellarium update decides it doesnt want to talk to StellariumScope any more).

I never thought to my first star alignment just using EQMOD - rather I just usually do a 1 or 2 star alignment straight from Stellarium (using CRTL-3) and using Sharpcap to centre the star in the camera frame.

I have no intention of changing away from using StellariumScope unless forced to. Nor do I intend using CdC and its ancient Windows 3 - style interface.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 23-01-2020, 09:29 AM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 7,215
Don't know about the Windows 3 interface......
but the latest V4.2.1 Cartes du Ciel works well for me.
UCAC4 catalogue (down to 18 mag), BeSS and Miles VO catalogues for my spectroscopy
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (CdC_EQmod.JPG)
144.9 KB13 views
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 25-01-2020, 01:06 PM
Xeteth (David)
Registered User

Xeteth is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 72
I managed to get StellariumScope up and running a while back, but actually found that plate solving in APT works really well. Is there a benefit to using Stellarium for GoTo control over plate solving? Or is it just whatever works best for the user?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 25-01-2020, 05:29 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,787
Iím running EQMOD with StellariumScope and Stellarium 0.18.1 and canít see me ever using anything else for the immediate future as itís so quick and accurate
Never plate solved so canít comment or compare
The day StellariumScope fails to launch EQMOD and interface with Stellarium will be a sad day but no doubt it will happen one day
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 17-02-2020, 07:33 PM
Premordial (Max)
Pale green dot

Premordial is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NSW
Posts: 47
Hi Martin,

I recall you asking about what keys to use to Sync. I stumbled onto the thread below saying to use CTRL-SHIFT-1. See the bottom of the thread...

https://stargazerslounge.com/topic/3...been-released/

HTH

--Max
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 20-02-2020, 07:02 AM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,787
Max
Thanks for the info
Iíll keep for future reference if I decide to change from Stellarium Scope to Ascom
Cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 10:48 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
EQ8-R
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Star Adventurer
Advertisement
Astromechanics
Advertisement
Celestron RASA
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement