#801  
Old 06-06-2017, 11:15 PM
luka's Avatar
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,109
LOVE the image Ryan.

You should do a 0ms exposure dark photo. That will give you a good indications about the noise and if everything is working fine. The StdDev line should be around 14 +-2... ish. Some minor vertical lines are fine as well.
Reply With Quote
  #802  
Old 06-06-2017, 11:17 PM
gehelem (Gilles)
Registered User

gehelem is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Rambouillet - France
Posts: 112
Rhahaha !!!
Congratulations from France
How many are you to build this cam here downunders ??
Gilles
Reply With Quote
  #803  
Old 07-06-2017, 01:48 AM
pat30 (Patrice)
Registered User

pat30 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: France
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by luka View Post
Patrice, a question regarding the mono sensor and sensor clearing before exposure... I can set the sensorCLR to zero here. Then if the duration of the flats is greater than zero (0.01s for example) it will clear the sensor before exposure. Are you using APT?

Can you describe which options you were using?
I am ashamed of myself, I have not tried with 0sec

Yes I use APT, what option? Cooling?

Cooling min 80% max 100%
AID cooling pause of 5 sec per 7 C

Exposure flat of 0.034 sec (19800 ADU) with DIY flat box.
MONO checked in Ascom

other:
PHD2 for guidance with APT dithering; CDC (french software) for skymap.

If you want to know something else, tell me what.

Rsevs3, like Gilles, congratulations from France

It's good, you're not against the French at least here because we include everywhere

Last edited by pat30; 07-06-2017 at 12:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #804  
Old 07-06-2017, 09:17 AM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,312
Excellent Ryan...how are the darks?

Brendan
Reply With Quote
  #805  
Old 18-06-2017, 03:51 PM
luka's Avatar
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,109
Gilles and Patrice, I have uploaded a new firmware to the usual place, v0.7L.

I still don't have a working camera but the ASCOM similator showed that APT sends coolingOn command to the camera whenever the temperature is changed, even if the cooling was already on.

So, I have modified the firmware to check if the cooling is already on after it receives coolingOn command. If it is already on, it will just leave it on. If it was off then the starting power will be used in the formula calculating the cooling power.

Can you please test and let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #806  
Old 20-06-2017, 09:31 PM
luka's Avatar
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,109
New driver is out, in the usual place. Version 0.7.2L. Screenshots attached.


Changes:
- Fix bug where maxGain was reported as 64 instead of 63
- Modify the layout of the settings form
- Add a button to minimise the settings form
- Add a button to toggle between image info only or settings as well when camera is connected

The biggest visual change is that I have modified the window layout to look more like EQASCOM. You can minimise the window now as well.

The firmware stays the same, v.0.6L.
(there is a testing firmware version v0.7L in the same folder, ignore for now unless you have cooling issues).


Enjoy
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Ascom_driver_screenshot3.png)
46.6 KB138 views
Click for full-size image (Ascom_driver_screenshot1.png)
20.3 KB135 views
Click for full-size image (Ascom_driver_screenshot2.png)
10.6 KB129 views
Reply With Quote
  #807  
Old 21-06-2017, 05:15 PM
gehelem (Gilles)
Registered User

gehelem is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Rambouillet - France
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by luka View Post
New driver is out, in the usual place. Version 0.7.2L. Screenshots attached.


Changes:
- Fix bug where maxGain was reported as 64 instead of 63
- Modify the layout of the settings form
- Add a button to minimise the settings form
- Add a button to toggle between image info only or settings as well when camera is connected

The biggest visual change is that I have modified the window layout to look more like EQASCOM. You can minimise the window now as well.

The firmware stays the same, v.0.6L.
(there is a testing firmware version v0.7L in the same folder, ignore for now unless you have cooling issues).


Enjoy
Thank you Luka, i've seen that on french forum (wich is down at the moment).
I've troubles with my cam at the moment : it's really hot here in France, and i think my cam didn't like staying all day under the sun.
I'm really disapointed with that, i think i'm gonna take a little break : i'm starting too many projects at same time, can't finish any...
I'll "try to try" your driver this weekend, but it might not be very usefull as my cam gives very strange results

Gilles.
Reply With Quote
  #808  
Old 21-06-2017, 09:25 PM
luka's Avatar
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,109
Gilles, hope you left the camera covered while in the sun. The metal housing can get quite hot and the internal parts even hotter.

If you get time on the weekend, can you test the new firmware, 0.7. In particular I would like to know if we have fixed the issue that you and Patrice had with cooling.
The changes in the driver were mainly cosmetic, and really do not require any serious testing. I did not touch any of the main functions.

Some bad news here as well.
I killed my mono sensor
I was trying to take off the glass that I glued over it as it was giving reflections and the blade slipped and cut one of the gold wires. Only one so I will try repairing it tomorrow but you know how tiny those things are. I don't think I stand a chance but desperate times call for desperate measures
Reply With Quote
  #809  
Old 24-06-2017, 02:29 AM
gehelem (Gilles)
Registered User

gehelem is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Rambouillet - France
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by luka View Post
(...)I would like to know if we have fixed the issue that you and Patrice had with cooling.(...)
I think it's KO
screenshot here
http://www.webastro.net/forum/showth...=1#post2424492
my firmware version claims to be FW=7 instead of your screenshot (FW=6...)
Reply With Quote
  #810  
Old 24-06-2017, 08:56 PM
luka's Avatar
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,109
New firmware update, version 8 in the usual place. Fixed the bug with the cooling restarting at 60% when the temperature is changed while the cooler is running.

Please note that I have changed the revision numbering for the firmware from "0.8" to "8" as this is what is actually recorded in the firmware (one byte) and reported in the ASCOM driver.

Enjoy.
Reply With Quote
  #811  
Old 24-06-2017, 09:31 PM
pat30 (Patrice)
Registered User

pat30 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: France
Posts: 119
Luka, the firmware it's perfect that way.

I have done some research for AD811 and I have retained some references:

THS4031
LMH6629
ADA4895
LT1115
AD797

If someone has more knowledge than me to verify

Last edited by pat30; 25-06-2017 at 06:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #812  
Old 28-06-2017, 05:07 PM
Lognic04's Avatar
Lognic04 (Logan)
Registered User

Lognic04 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 859
Hi all,
Just letting you know i will be starting this project! i have already been in contact with luka, so at this stage i still dont have any of the parts i need (yet!)
Reply With Quote
  #813  
Old 28-06-2017, 10:54 PM
luka's Avatar
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,109
to the group. Make sure you do lots of reading before starting and feel free to ask questions.
Reply With Quote
  #814  
Old 29-06-2017, 06:01 AM
pat30 (Patrice)
Registered User

pat30 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: France
Posts: 119
Hi Lognic04, welcome in the adventure
Reply With Quote
  #815  
Old 29-06-2017, 10:27 AM
Lognic04's Avatar
Lognic04 (Logan)
Registered User

Lognic04 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 859
Hi all!
I have found that the following parts are discontinued at RS:
721-5666
811-8796
696-3092
888-8704
Any idea where i could find these?
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #816  
Old 29-06-2017, 09:59 PM
luka's Avatar
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,109
You can get the manufacturer part numbers from my BOM and then look at element14. For example
721-5666 (RS) -> ERJ6BQF3R0V -> 1892948RL (E14)

Even more interestingly, you can search the RS part numbers directly on the E14 website, i.e. you can skip the middle step.

Note that E14 charges for delivery if under $45 or so. RS has free delivery, even for a 1c part. Also for some parts there is a significant difference in pricing between the two shops. My spreadsheet may not be up-to-date.

Make sure you order the slow parts from overseas first (sensor sockets and TEC if you decide to use the same one as we did), otherwise you will be stuck waiting for them for weeks while the camera is almost ready.
Reply With Quote
  #817  
Old 01-07-2017, 04:00 AM
pat30 (Patrice)
Registered User

pat30 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: France
Posts: 119
Hi everybody,
I do not know if you followed my last post on Webastro, I measured the noise of the board, a diagonal parasite is out, I would like to see if it is in everyone so if one of you Can do the test it would be nice.

To do this you must not have any accessories running (tec, fan, nothing, just the board) remove the sensor, set the pin 19 to ground with setting offset 0 and gain 0 make a picture as fast as possible.

Here is what it looks like:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B33...ew?usp=sharing
Reply With Quote
  #818  
Old 01-07-2017, 09:46 PM
luka's Avatar
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,109
Grim may have a better idea than us. Any chance your grounding wire could be picking up the 50Hz mains frequency?

(Cannot test my camera now, no power and no USB cables).
Reply With Quote
  #819  
Old 03-07-2017, 01:23 PM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,312
Hi Logan...just sent you a pm. On parts...we can give you access to our cam86 google drive to see files or I can send you my latest in xls format.

Oh sorry for my late pm reply...I was waylaid by a beautiful girl...my wife!

Brendan
Reply With Quote
  #820  
Old 03-07-2017, 01:46 PM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,312
Just about to ship 1st PCB to Gary. Its in case and runs fine. He's sending me a sensor, I'll mount it and fit the temp sensor DS18B20 and its nearly done.

R&R sensors is a real pain. Very easy to bend the sensor pins, so I left my sensors in his PCBs till they were done.

Luka is proposing a small breakout rear case for pwr/USB. This will simplify some connections. Oh I'll conformal coat the PCB to protect it from moisture. Just the cheap Jaycar stuff.


Brendan
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Gary PCB1 assembled 0ms Dark.jpg)
140.8 KB57 views
Click for full-size image (IMG_3310-small.jpg)
177.4 KB78 views
Click for full-size image (IMG_3307-small.jpg)
153.6 KB58 views
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 03:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement