#1  
Old 17-11-2012, 01:14 PM
pmrid's Avatar
pmrid (Peter)
Ageing badly.

pmrid is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bribie Is.
Posts: 3,107
Revisiting Unimap

I had some idle time in the lousy weather this morning so I had another play with Unimap. I like it - particularly as an aid in identifying the other things that crop up in an image.

But at the moment, it only wants to talk to the SAO and I was wondering how one loads a different Catalog into it.

Anyone else having a fling with this program?

Peter
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (solved.jpg)
197.8 KB27 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17-11-2012, 01:36 PM
mithrandir's Avatar
mithrandir (Andrew)
Registered User

mithrandir is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Glenhaven
Posts: 4,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmrid View Post
I had some idle time in the lousy weather this morning so I had another play with Unimap. I like it - particularly as an aid in identifying the other things that crop up in an image.

But at the moment, it only wants to talk to the SAO and I was wondering how one loads a different Catalog into it.

Anyone else having a fling with this program?
Peter, if you open the "Options->Catalogs" menu you can add other catalogs for stars, DSOs and all sorts of other objects. You then choose one of the others as the current catalog.

Tycho2 is usually enough and you can download the whole catalog. The bigger star catalogs ones below that in the list are probably better to just download the bits required as required. You do need to have a reasonable guess at the field centre and FOV or you'll have to download a bigger area and that can take ages. It does cache the bits it has downloaded.

Be warned, with a large FOV even Tycho2 can crash it by running out of memory. We had that discussion a couple of week back with Marc's mosaic. I had to reduce the max magnitude to about 8 before it stopped crashing.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-11-2012, 07:16 AM
pmrid's Avatar
pmrid (Peter)
Ageing badly.

pmrid is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bribie Is.
Posts: 3,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by mithrandir View Post
Peter, if you open the "Options->Catalogs" menu you can add other catalogs for stars, DSOs and all sorts of other objects. You then choose one of the others as the current catalog.

Tycho2 is usually enough and you can download the whole catalog. The bigger star catalogs ones below that in the list are probably better to just download the bits required as required. You do need to have a reasonable guess at the field centre and FOV or you'll have to download a bigger area and that can take ages. It does cache the bits it has downloaded.

Be warned, with a large FOV even Tycho2 can crash it by running out of memory. We had that discussion a couple of week back with Marc's mosaic. I had to reduce the max magnitude to about 8 before it stopped crashing.
G'day Andrew,
I already have quite a collection of databases including TCHO2 and others, but I'm having trouble figuring out how to get UniMap to access local copies of those catalogs - the TCHO files are DAT files whereas the UniMap data files seem to be in another format with an ADM suffix.
I had hoped to be able to make the system free-standing so I can use it in the field without an internet connection and accessing SINBAD and so forth remotely.

Peter
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19-11-2012, 05:12 PM
mithrandir's Avatar
mithrandir (Andrew)
Registered User

mithrandir is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Glenhaven
Posts: 4,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmrid View Post
G'day Andrew,
I already have quite a collection of databases including TCHO2 and others, but I'm having trouble figuring out how to get UniMap to access local copies of those catalogs - the TCHO files are DAT files whereas the UniMap data files seem to be in another format with an ADM suffix.
I had hoped to be able to make the system free-standing so I can use it in the field without an internet connection and accessing SINBAD and so forth remotely.
Peter, you can get it to download entire catalogs like Tycho2 (ie the not too huge ones) from the "Options->Catalogs" panel and then use the local copy. Since I have copies of UCAC3, most of NOMAD and my UCAC4 DVD is somewhere between the USNO and here I'd like to be able to tell it to use those. I must ask Larry about enabling that.
Because different programs use different data formats for catalogs I have at least 4 versions of Tycho2, and 2 or 3 of PGC/Leda, UCAC2, UCAC3 and a few others.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 06:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement