Old 05-04-2017, 01:40 PM
xflashjordan231 (Jono)

Astrophotography set up problems

Hello Everyone

I'm very new to this and im enjoying looking through my scope but I'm having issues trying to get pictures. I connect my Nikon 3400 dslr to my skywatcher 150/750 with the Nikon o'ring and celestron T adaptor and have learnt that if I remove the sight that come with the scope I can get an image on the camera lsd and view finder but when I take a pic its just leaves blank white screen after it just showed the image. Any help would be great...I have the dslr on maual with the other feautres on auto. is it an iso or focus problem. strange that the image is there ready to be captured but once I shoot its just white. Connect the correct camera lens back on it works fine and takes pictures no problem..
Old 05-04-2017, 02:36 PM
sil (Steve)
Not even a speck of dust

Its exposure, camera lenses have electronics to allow the camera to do Auto---whatever. A telescope doesn't, so YOU need to use the camera in Manual mode only and tell it all the settings for exposure. The image in live view is a view split out from the lens so you can see what its pointed at but its NOT what the exposure of the photo will look like.

The viewfinder and live view should show you if you have focused corrected, there is NO Autofocus, no auto exposure no auto anything really when on a telescope, its all manual so its up to you. change things one at a time and take test shots to see the changes and learn what works for you and your gear.
Old 05-04-2017, 03:35 PM
astro_nutt

Hi Jono.
Besides setting the camera to work manually, you will have to change the Camera's ISO settings.
Start at ISO1000.
Have your White balance set to daylight.
Noise reduction set to High.
If you have a remote, use either Mirror-up or 2 second delay before taking the image.
Look up Google on how to make a Bathinov focusing mask to fit over the scope.
Cheers!
Old 05-04-2017, 03:54 PM
xflashjordan231 (Jono)

Smile