Old 30-10-2013, 12:22 PM
Bart
Don't have a cow, Man!

Night scape cameras

I just love the night scape photo section and the beautiful images there-in.

What are the main cameras in use here? I have tried with my 40d but it just seems so noisy and I'm really a crap photographer anyway. I have read up and try hard but always end up with noisy images.

Is there a trick like taking raws and applying darks or does it come down to the camera a lot?

Can I get a of show of hands as to who is using what and perhaps why you chose that camera?

Thanks.
Old 30-10-2013, 02:11 PM
gregbradley

Most popular is the Canon 6D. Next most was Canon 5D 11 but some have upgraded to 6D from that. There are also some Canon 7D images (7D is noisy). Canon APSc models 70D down to 40D. But I think most are a bit noisy. You can see at dpreview.com the various models at high ISO in RAW (not jpeg as in camera noise reduction will be in play and confuse results, nightscapes are usually shot in RAW).

On the Nikon side there are some D800 and D800E. The occassional D7100 or D5100.

I sometimes use a Fuji XE1 which is about the cleanest in the APSc sized cameras and is close to full frame performance but not quite.

The new Sony A7 and A7r would be among the best.

For nightscapes I think your choice is determined by low light high ISO performance. DPreview.com has tools that show comparisons of various cameras at various ISO levels.

Canon:
1DX 1DC most expensive pro models
6D (the cleanest of the Canon's probably achieved by firmware dark subtract work rather than a high performing sensor but regardless it is very clean) about $2000
5D111 About $3,500
5D 11 (a bit noisy by the latest models standards) 2nd hand about $1500

Nikon:

D4 most expensive pro model
D800 D800E about $3000
D610 about $2000 competitor to Canon 6D. Oil/dust issue from shutter onto sensor is claimed to be fixed with this model from D600.